BDTTA League Match Report – Week 10: Four For New Milton Table Tennis Club

The second round of nine matches got underway in the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league last week, and the New Milton club managed to double their first round haul with four wins out of ten.

In the Premier, the A team (Steve Hemmings, Brian Vibert and Phil Handy) lost for the second time to the all-female Bournemouth Sports B team, this time by 1-9 away at Chapel Gate. The Milton trio all drew blanks but the Bournettes conceded the doubles which made the scoreline look a bit more respectable.

 Div 1 saw the B team (Malcolm Floyd, Shaun Newcomb and Julie Smillie) draw 5-5 at home against Lynwood B having lost at their place in the first round. Newcomb and Smillie bagged a brace apiece, but captain Floyd just missed out on a win as he lost 10-12 in the fifth against Lynwood’s Colin Milton. The doubles were needed to force the draw but it looked gloomy as Floyd and Newcomb lost the first two sets quite heavily. However, the duo rallied to steal the third set at deuce by 14-12 and then Newcomb seized control of the play to ensure that they won the next two.

Also in Div 1, the C team (Max De Kment, James Lewis and new signing Michael Robertson) completely reversed their first round defeat by beating Bournemouth Sports E 8-2 down at Chapel Gate. De Kment scored his first hat-trick of the campaign and was joined in a treble by Robertson who used to play for the Merton club. Captain Lewis added one more to the tally and joined with Robertson to win the doubles to secure maximum points which brought them to within two points of the B team.

In Div 2, the D team (Bob Fagan, Roy Hobbs and stand-in Bev Scott-Johns) did the double over Bournemouth Sports K with a 6-4 home win. Bourne turned up a player short, and Fagan added to the three game advantage by beating both players present, while Hobbs chipped in with the one win.

Div 3 saw the E team improve on their first round draw against Broadstone C as they beat them 7-3 at home. Clive Pitts returned to form by recording his first hat-trick of the campaign, Simon Golding came up with his second treble and Bill Page added one to the card. The doubles were needed for maximum points but Page and Pitts lost in three straight sets.

The F team (Sylvia Smith, Ian Linney and Frank Handy) also missed out on maximum points in Div 3 by losing the doubles to two-man Merton F. Linney beat both players who showed, but captain Smith and Handy could only contribute one win each to add to the gifted three games. Linney and Handy battled back after losing the first two sets of the doubles to take the next two, but the decider slipped from their grasp to end up losing 4-11.

Also in Div 3, the G team (Malcolm Nash, Eddie Tompkins and Lewis Reading) lost for the second time against high-flyers Ringwood B, this time by 2-8 away at Greyfriars. Tompkins, playing for the first time this season, won Milton’s only singles and joined with captain Nash to win the doubles. Milton were worthy of at least a point but they came out worst in all but one of the five games that went all the way to five sets.

In Div 4, the H team (Andrew & Peter Daish and Bobo Jiang) lost 2-8 for the second time against top-placed Winton YMCA C, this time away at Winton. Peter Daish and Bobo Jiang won one apiece, but with Andrew Daish drawing a blank the doubles were needed to salvage a point. It was nip and tuck throughout the full five sets but Andrew Daish and Jiang just lost the decider by 9-11 for Milton to go home empty handed.

Div 5 saw the K team lose 0-10 to Nimrod C for the second time, but they are looking forward to playing fellow strugglers Winton YMCA D in the New Year as they beat them first time around.

Also in Div 5, the J team (Sam Watkins, Malcolm Douglas and Keith Kensley) lost 3-7 away against Bournemouth Sports T having beaten them in the first round. Watkins won two and Kensley only just missed out on his own brace as he tantalisingly lost 18-20 in the fifth end to Bourne veteran Jim Simmonds. It must have felt like they were playing to the old 21-up rule in the decider!

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 28/12/2011, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: