Another Brilliant Year For New Milton Table Tennis Club (Press Report)

New Milton Table Tennis Club members celebrated another fantastic season at their combined AGM and Presentation Evening at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre on 16th July . There was still a buzz from the recent news that the club had been upgraded from a 3-Star PremierClub rating to 4-Star by the English Table Tennis Association. This makes the club the highest rated club in the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis Association.

In January, the club achieved “Ability Club” status in recognition of its capability and commitment to “actively working with disabled people”, which helped towards its case for the higher star rating. Another significant milestone for the club was the launch of their own website which was designed by Junior Representative Andrew Daish with help from the club’s committee. The website shows that the club has eleven UKCC coaches including a specialist disability coach. Two of the club’s three UKCC Level 2 coaches (Shaun Newcomb and James Lewis) are currently working towards the highest national level, UKCC Level 3.

In addition to these achievements, club secretary Bev Scott-Johns reported on a very satisfactory and enjoyable season in the Bournemouth and District league. The club increased its number of teams from 9 to 10 making it the second biggest club in the league. Although none of the teams finished in the promotion stakes, none of the teams were relegated either, so this was a period of consolidation for the club after the unprecedented success in the previous season. Bev also reported on the very successful club tournaments, opining that the Finals Night was the best that he could remember in all his years as a member of the club. He particularly thanked Simon Golding from SGTV Productions Ltd and helpers for recording the event on TV cameras, another “first” for the club. Simon’s work commitments allowing, the eagerly awaited DVD should be available in another month or so.

The club was relieved when after heavy campaigning, the Mudeford Wood Charitable Trust took over the day to day running of the centre from the council on 1st April 2012, which should hopefully secure the club’s main playing venue for the foreseeable future. The club was also heavily involved in the New Milton Pageant of Sport and the National “Ping” Project, with the two table tennis tables proving very popular in New Milton rec.

The club’s Coaching Co-ordinator James Lewis reported that the club’s coaching activities continued to expand, with the coaching sessions at Arnewood School still proving to be very popular and will resume again in September. James paid special tribute to 11 year old Matthew Daish who moved up from Division 5 to Division 3 this season in the Bournemouth & District league where he came top in the averages table. He won the Under 11s National Schools Championship at Doncaster and finished this season in third place of the ETTA’s Boys Under 12 national rankings. He also won the Bournemouth One Star Cadet and Junior titles, came runner-up in the Sussex One Star tournament and 3rd in the Under 12s National Championships held at the University of Wolverhampton, having lost to the number one seed and eventual tournament winner. Older brother Peter also had an excellent season so they were uniquely jointly awarded the James Lewis Trophy for Most Improved Player.

Club Treasurer Malcolm Floyd reported on a healthy financial position which included a grant of £1250 gratefully received from the “Accentuate” Programme. This will be used to buy two wheelchair-friendly table tennis tables and other equipment ready for the new season.

The club’s officers were returned unopposed: Shaun Newcomb (Chair & Development Officer), Bev Scott-Johns (Secretary), Malcolm Floyd (Treasurer) and James Lewis (Welfare Officer). Dave Sutton and Brian Vibert stood down from the committee and thanks were recorded for their excellent past services. Phil Handy joined standing members Julie Smillie (Minutes Secretary), Steve Hemmings and Andrew Daish (Junior Representative) on the committee. With the AGM out of the way, club President Bob Fagan presented the club’s annual trophies:-

 Open Singles: Phil Handy, Runner-up Steve Hemmings

Handicap Singles: Phil Handy, Runner-up Peter Daish

Vets 40+: Steve Hemmings, Runner-up Julie Smillie

Under 40s: Peter Daish, Runner-up Zac Dowling

Juniors: Matthew Daish, Runner-up Zac Dowling

Doubles: Bob Fagan & Ian Linney, Runners-up Roy Hobbs & Dave Sutton

James Lewis Trophy for Most Improved Player: Jointly awarded to Peter & Matthew Daish

Doris Marshall Memorial Plate for Club Person of the Year: Bev Scott-Johns

The club now eagerly looks forward to the 2012/2013 season, but is always on the lookout for new members, from novices to experience players. Any reader wishing to join a friendly and vibrant club should give Bev Scott-Johns a call on 01425 619552.

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 16/08/2012, in 1. News, 4. Club Events. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Another well written and informative report, thanks Malcolm.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: