New Milton Table Tennis Club lost six out of their nine matches in the Bournemouth & District league last week, their highest week’s tally of defeats so far this season. In Div 5, the table-topping J team could only field two players due to holidays and sickness and they lost 2-8 at home to Bmth Sports U. However, in the lower reaches of that division, the K team did the double over Merton J by repeating their first round 6-4 victory. This was a really tremendous effort by Milton’s trio of up and coming youngsters; 15 year old Jack Fisher came up with his second hat-trick of the campaign, fellow 15 year old Lucy Craddock bagged a brace and 14 year old Andrew Stainton chipped in with the one win again. Young Stainton almost matched Craddock’s brace in his final singles against Merton’s Maggie Brown. He lost the first two sets but displayed great maturity to come back to take the next two sets, but sadly lost his fifth and final set 8-11.

In a good week for the club’s rising young stars, in addition to Fisher’s treble, further hat-tricks came from Peter Daish (14), Luke Gurton (17), Matthew Winter (19), as well as the evergreen Frank Handy. Full results are below:-


New Milton A 1 Bmth Sports A 9

(Steve Hemmings 0, Umit Kaya 0)

NB: New Milton were a player short.


Bmth Sports G 8 New Milton B 2

(Zoltan Karip-Barath 1, Julie Smillie 0, Shaun Newcomb 1)

New Milton C 3 Winton YMCA A 7

(James Lewis 0, Max De Kment 2, Gerard Redman 1)


Merton E 7 New Milton E 3

(Simon Golding 1, Bev Scott-Johns 0, Max Doohan 1)

Nimrod A 8 New Milton F 2

(Malcolm Nash 1, Sylvia Smith 0, Ian Linney 1)

New Milton G 8 Broadstone C 2

(Frank Handy 3, Peter Daish 3, Bobo Jiang 2)


Shamrock A 2 New Milton H 8

(Matthew Winter 3, Svet Ignatov 2, Luke Gurton 3)


New Milton J 2 Bmth Sports U 8

(Geoff Biggs 1, Jon Morley 0)

NB: New Milton were a player short.

New Milton K 6 Merton J 4

(Andrew Stainton 1, Lucy Craddock 2, Jack Fisher 3)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 15/02/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: