New Milton Table Tennis Club chalked up a magnificent seven wins out of their ten matches in the Bournemouth and District League last week, three of them through 10-0 whitewashes. Both the D and H teams were given a three match start as their opposition turned up a player short, but the F team had it all to do. The F’s Sylvia Smith and Lewis Reading came up with their first hat-tricks of the campaign, Ian Linney came up with his second treble, and Smith & Reading took the doubles in three straight sets to complete the rout.

lewis reading

The F Team’s Lewis Reading who scored a hat-trick along with Sylvia Smith and Ian Linney.

A special mention has to go to 12 year old Matthew Daish whose double helped his B team to victory in Div 1, but he topped that with a spectacular hat-trick as he played up in the Premier for the A team two days later. Matthew was pleased to get his revenge over Bournemouth Sports’ Daniel Prakesh, also playing up, to whom he lost two days earlier in their Div 1 match. Full results are below:-


Bmth Sports C 1 New Milton A 9

(Steve Hemmings 3, Umit Kaya 2, Matthew Daish 3)


New Milton B 7 Bmth Sports H 3

(Matthew Daish, 2, Zoltan Karip-Barath 2, Shaun Newcomb 2)

Bmth Sports F 3 New Milton C 7

(Martin Jerome 2, Alan Gordon 2, Max De Kment 2)


New Milton D 10 Bmth Sports J 0

(Bob Fagan, 2, Roy Hobbs 2, Chris Pusey 2)

NB: Bmth Sports were a player short.


New Milton E 5 Ringwood B 5

(Clive Pitts 1, Dave Sutton 3, Bev Scott-Johns 0)

New Milton F 10 Winton YMCA C 0

(Ian Linney 3, Sylvia Smith 3, Lewis Reading 3)

Merton F 2 New Milton G 8

(Bobo Jiang 2, Peter Daish 3, Frank Handy 2)


New Milton H 10 Merton H 0

(Matthew Winter 2, Svet Ignatov 2, Les Smith 2)

NB: Merton were a player short.


Bmth Sports T 7 New Milton J 3

(Geoff Biggs 0, Mike Roberts 2, Richard Ursell 0)

Shamrock C 10 New Milton K 0

(Sue Wootton-Freeman 0, Elliott Marx 0, Sibyl Bartlett 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 28/02/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: