Honours Even in Table Tennis Derby! (Week 17 Results)

New Milton Table Tennis Club won five matches in the Bournemouth and District league last week with one of the wins coming at the expense of one of their own teams in a local derby. The G team were out for revenge having lost 4-6 to their E team in their first-round clash in Div 3, and so it proved as they beat their club mates 8-2 at the Arnewood School. It looked like turning into a rout as the G’s won the first eight matches, but the E’s captain Bev Scott-Johns spared the blushes by beating Bobo Jiang, and then Simon Golding & Clive Pitts just nicked the doubles from Frank Handy & Peter Daish by 13-11 in the fifth and final set.


Picture provided by Andrew Daish

The G team celebrating their derby win over the E team (l-r Peter Daish, Frank Handy, Bobo Jiang).

The B team did their chances of survival in Div 1 no harm at all with a 10-0 whitewash over basement boys Bransgore at home at Mudeford Wood Community Centre. The B’s have to sweat it out next week however as they have a “bye”. Full results are below:-


Bmth Sports D 5 New Milton A 5

(Brian Vibert 1, Steve Hemmings 2, Umit Kaya 0)


New Milton B 10 Bransgore 0

(Matthew Daish 3, Zoltan Karip-Barath 3, Shaun Newcomb 3)

Bmth Sports H 1 New Milton C 9

(Alan Gordon 2, Martin Jerome 3, Max De Kment 3)


New Milton D 3 Merton D 7

(Bob Fagan 2, Terry Jenvey 0, Chris Pusey 1)


New Milton G 8 New Milton E 2

(G: Bobo Jiang 2, Frank Handy 3, Peter Daish 3)

(E: Simon Golding 0, Bev Scott-Johns 1, Clive Pitts 0)

New Milton F 4 Broadstone C 6

(Ian Linney 1, Malcolm Nash 2, Eddie Tompkins 1)


Winton YMCA D 2 New Milton H 8

(Matthew Winter 3, John Parkhouse 1, Svet Ignatov 3)


Bmth Sports V 1 New Milton J 9

(Malcolm Douglas 3, Keith Kensley 2, Mike Roberts 3)

New Milton K 4 Winton YMCA F 6

(Jack Fisher 1, Lucy Craddock 2, Andrew Stainton 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 07/03/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: