A record number of members of the New Milton Table Tennis Club were in attendance at the combined AGM and Presentation Evening at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre. Club Secretary Bev Scott-Johns reported on another very successful season for the club, especially in the Bournemouth and District League. Two of the club’s ten teams won promotion to higher divisions and happily once again there were no relegations. The G team (Captain Frank Handy, Bobo Jiang, Andrew, Peter & Simon Daish, not forgetting super-sub Matthew Winter) go up to Div 2 as Div 3 champions, and the J team (Captain Malcolm Douglas, Geoff Biggs, Keith Kensley, Jon Morley, Mike Roberts, Richard Ursell & Sam Watkins) go up to Div 4 as runners-up of Div 5. The H team captained by Les Smith almost made it out of Div 4, but were pipped to the post as runners-up by Bmth Sports R in their last match of the season. The E team captained by Club Secretary Bev Scott-Johns made it all the way through to the final of the Times & Directory Plate competition, but unfortunately lost to Bmth Sports H.

It was a very busy year for the Club, what with its involvement in the New Milton Pageant of Sport, “Ping” Hampshire, the New Milton Rugby Club Family Fun Day, Coaching Sessions at the Arnewood School and various Table Tennis Exhibitions, all ably led by Julie Smillie. Julie took over the roles of Coaching Liaison Officer and Welfare Officer and she is also Minutes Secretary. It was in recognition of her tremendous efforts that she was awarded the club’s prestigious Doris Marshall Memorial Plate for Club Person of the Year.

Julie&Bob150713A delighted Julie Smillie receiving her well-deserved Doris Marshall Memorial Plate for Club Person of the Year from Club President Bob Fagan (she also won the Ladies Singles event for good measure!).

Bev also reported on another set of extremely successful annual club tournaments, including the revived Ladies Singles event which was won by, guess who, Julie Smillie. Phil Handy successfully defended his Handicap Singles and Open Singles titles, and Matthew Daish not only won both the Junior and Under 40 titles, but also the Doubles with older brother Peter. Danny Williams won the Vets 40+ event, depriving Steve Hemmings of his third successive title. Once again, the finals were videoed by club member Simon Golding from SGTV Productions Ltd and helpers, and the video should shortly be available on the club’s website.

Matthew&Phil150713Matthew Daish and Phil Handy proudly display their impressive haul of club trophies.

Bev singled out 12 year old Matthew Daish for special praise after yet another impressive season from the rising starlet. Daish more than held his own in Div 1 having moved up from Div 3 and ended up with a 64% winning average. He also made four appearances in the Premier and won five out of his twelve matches. In addition to winning the club’s Junior and Under 40 titles, he also won the League’s Div 1 Individuals title at Harewood College. Matthew also took part in the Gloucester “2” tournament and made it through to both the Under 13 and Under 15 semi-finals only to lose out to Number 1 seed Alex Ramsden on both occasions. However, he did win the Hampshire Schools Under 13 event at Testwood and will play in the National School Finals in Doncaster in April 2014. Matthew jointly won the club’s James Lewis Trophy for Most Improved Player with older brother Peter last season, but he was pipped to the post by Bobo Jiang this year. In his first season for the club (2011/2012), Bobo achieved a winning average of 70% in Div 4. This season he achieved a 44% league average up in Div 3 in the first half, but 76% in the second half to end up with 67% overall.

Bev was also pleased to report that the club’s Chair & Development Officer Shaun Newcomb and Coach James Lewis have just successfully completed the final practical assessments for their UKCC Level 3 coaching badges, the highest coaching level. As well as helping out with the coaching, a very busy James also ran the Junior Umpire courses which resulted in fourteen youngsters gaining their ETTA Junior Umpire Certificates.

Bev announced that the club hoped to increase its presence in the Bournemouth & District League from ten to eleven teams next season, another club record. The club is very proud of its status as a 4-Star Premier Ability Club, the highest rated club in the Bournemouth & District League and is the second biggest club in the League.

Club Treasurer Malcolm Floyd reported on a very healthy financial position, which included a £400 grant from Hampshire Table Tennis Association for the club’s part in the Ping Hampshire Project. This very welcome donation will be used to support the club’s ongoing Coaching and Development Programme.

The club’s officers were returned unopposed: Shaun Newcomb (Chair & Development Officer), Bev Scott-Johns (Secretary), Malcolm Floyd (Treasurer) and Julie Smillie (Welfare Officer, Coaching Liaison Officer & Minutes Secretary), and Bob Fagan continued as President. The existing committee members were all re-elected en bloc; Andrew Daish, Malcolm Douglas, Frank Handy, Phil Handy and Steve Hemmings (Vice Chair). Andrew’s younger brother Peter joined the committee and took over his role as Junior Representative. With the AGM out of the way, club President Bob Fagan presented the annual trophies:-

Open Singles: Phil Handy, Runner-up Steve Hemmings

Handicap Singles: Phil Handy, Runner-up Julie Smillie

Ladies Singles: Julie Smillie, Runner-up Angela Farmer

Vets 40+: Danny Williams, Runner-up Steve Hemmings

Under 40s: Matthew Daish, Runner-up Fern Daish

Juniors: Matthew Daish, Runner-up Simon Daish

Doubles: Matthew & Peter Daish, Runners-up Shaun Newcomb & James Lewis

James Lewis Trophy for Most Improved Player: Bobo Jiang

Doris Marshall Memorial Plate for Club Person of the Year: Julie Smillie

The club now eagerly looks forward to the 2013/2014 season, but is always on the lookout for new members from complete novices to experienced players. Anybody interested in joining our very friendly club should contact Club Secretary Bev Scott-Johns on 01425 619552.

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 25/07/2013, in 1. News, 4. Club Events. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: