All eleven of the New Milton Table Tennis Club’s teams were in action in the Bournemouth and District league last week, but they could only match the three wins from their nine teams from the previous week.

Rising starlet Matthew Daish celebrated his thirteenth birthday a couple of days early as he got off the mark in the Premier with an amazing hat-trick for his A team against Winton YMCA A. The teenager capped his perfect evening by helping Steve Hemmings to win the doubles to gain maximum points from their 8-2 victory at the YMCA, their first win of the season.


Malcolm Floyd came up with his first hat-trick in Div 2 as he captained his C team to an 8-2 maximum-pointer (their first!) over Ringwood A in their own back yard. Frank Handy matched Floyd’s Div 2 treble as he led his E team to a 7-3 win over Merton D at the Arnewood School. The homecoming Dave Strike clocked up his third hat-trick in a row as he helped his H team to a 5-5 draw against the high-flying Shamrock A (Div 4) at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre.

Mike Roberts came up with his first hat-trick in Div 4 as he helped his struggling J team to take a point off Merton J. He capped his evening by helping to win the doubles to make it 4-6. Full results details are below:-


Winton YMCA A 2 New Milton A 8

(Steve Hemmings 2, Umit Kaya 2, Matthew Daish 3)


New Milton B 4 Merton C 6

(Brian Bickell 2, John Millward 0, Shaun Newcomb 2)


Ringwood A 2 New Milton C 8

(Dave Cuddon 2, Malcolm Floyd 3, Matt Winter 2)

New Milton D 5 North Bmth 5

(Chris Pusey 0, Bob Fagan 0, Roy Hobbs 1)

New Milton E 7 Merton D 3

(Bobo Jiang 2, Andrew Daish 1, Frank Handy 3)


New Milton F 3 Breamore 7

(Malcolm Nash 1, Sylvia Smith 1, Ian Linney 1)

Ringwood B 7 New Milton G 3

(Simon Golding 2, Bev Scott-Johns 1, Bill Page 0)


New Milton H 5 Shamrock A 5

(John Parkhouse 1, Dave Strike 3, Danny Williams 1)

Merton J 6 New Milton J 4

(Geoff Biggs 0, Keith Kensley 0, Mike Roberts 3)


New Milton K 4 Shamrock B 6

(Lynn Willrich 1, Campbell Golding 1, Lucy Craddock 1)

Merton L 8 New Milton L 2

(Sibyl Bartlett 0, Dominic Stainton 0, Andrew Stainton 2)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 27/10/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: