There was a break in the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league programme last week as the week was given over to the Times & Directory Handicap competition. Out of the three New Milton teams to get through to Round 2 of the Cup, only the A team managed to book their place in the Quarter-Finals.

The Club had a much better rate of return in Round 1 of the “Plate” competition as all five teams go into the draw for Round 2 of the Plate. The D and J teams had a bye but the C, F and G teams had to battle for their places.

Turning to the Cup proper, the B team (Brian Bickell, Julie Smillie & Zoltan Karip-Barath) who usually play in Div 1 lost 3-6 to Div 4’s Winton YMCA D at Mudeford Wood. Great things were expected of the E team (Andrew Daish, Peter Daish & Simon Daish) who are currently top of Div 2, but they narrowly lost 3-5 away against the Premier’s Merton A at Southbourne. The Premier’s A team (Matthew Daish, Phil Handy & Steve Hemmings) showed how it was done by beating Div 4’s Bmth Sports N 5-2 down at Mudeford Wood. Handy playing off +6 won all three and captain Steve Hemmings playing off the same handicap won both his matches.

In the Plate, the Div 2’s C team (Malcolm Floyd, Svet Ignatov & stand-in Simon Golding) had it won by 5-2 against Shamrock B (Div 5) at Mudeford Wood and played the remaining games to make it 7-2. Floyd (pictured below) playing off +14 played doggedly to win all three but Ignatov (+16) and Golding (+15) fell victim to Shamrock’s Lori Ryder who was starting off with the mind-boggling 26 (up to 31).

malcolm floyd 25-10-2009 20-41-56

Simon Golding was in action again, this time for his own G team (Div 3), and his hat-trick helped them to a tremendous 9-0 victory over Bmth Sports R (Div 5) at Chapel Gate. Golding was aided and abetted in the rout by captain Bev Scott-Johns (+21) and stand-in Danny Williams (+21).

New Milton F (Malcolm Nash, Ian Linney & Sylvia Smith) who also usually ply their trade in Div 3 came away from Southbourne with a 7-2 victory over Div 4’s Merton J thanks to hat-tricks from Linney and Smith. Full result details are below:-


New Milton A (Premier) 5 Bmth Sports N (Div 4) 2

(Matthew Daish (+8) 0, Phil Handy (+6) 3, Steve Hemmings (+6) 2)

New Milton B (Div 1) 3 Winton YMCA D (Div 4) 6

(Brian Bickell (+9) 2, Julie Smillie (+13) 1, Zoltan Karip-Barath (+11) 0)

Merton A (Premier) 5 New Milton E (Div 2) 3

(Andrew Daish (+20) 1, Peter Daish (+14) 0, Simon Daish (+18) 2)

New Milton A go through to the Quarter-Finals of the Cup.


New Milton C (Div 2) 7 Shamrock B (Div 5) 2

(Malcolm Floyd (+14) 3, Svet Ignatov (+16) 2, Simon Golding (+15) 2)

Merton J (Div 4) 2 New Milton F (Div 3) 7

(Malcolm Nash (+21) 1, Sylvia Smith (+20) 3, Ian Linney (+18) 3)

Bmth Sports R (Div 5) 0 New Milton G (Div 3) 9

(Bev Scott-Johns (+21) 3, Danny Williams (+21) 3, Simon Golding (+15) 3)

New Milton C, F & G go through to Round 2 of the Plate along with the D & J teams who both had byes.

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 29/01/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: