There was a break in the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league last week as the week was given over to the Times & Directory Handicap Competition, ie the semi-finals of the Cup and the quarter-finals of the Plate.

The Premier’s New Milton A (Steve Hemmings, Phil Handy & Matthew Daish) booked their place in the Cup Final as they beat Winton YMCA B (Div 1) fairly comfortably by 5-2 aided and abetted by a hat-trick from Handy. This will be the A team’s third crack at the Final having been runners-up in 2010/2011 and 2011/12, so hopefully it will be third time lucky for them.

There were four New Milton teams left in the quarter-finals of the Plate, but remarkably none of them were drawn against the other. The only team to go through to the semi-finals were the C team (Svet Ignatov, Malcolm Floyd & Malcolm Nash) pictured below, who scraped a 5-4 win over Div 4’s Winton YMCA E. Malcolm Nash played up a division and had his 21 start reduced to 15 as he had to take on the handicap of the Div 2 player whom he replaced. Nash played very well but the five forfeited points proved a bridge too far so he went home empty handed. Ignatov won all three of his matches, while Floyd playing off +14 lost to Duncan Feltham (+23) in the first game of the evening but subsequently beat Duncan’s Dad Harold (+18). And so it was level-pegging at 4-4 when Floyd took on Will Sharpe (+21) in the ninth and final game. Floyd took the first end 31-29, but just lost the second by a nail-biting 30-31 to set up a very tense finale. However, Floyd kept his nerve and defended doggedly to win 31-27 to take his side into the semi-finals.


The G team’s Plate match against fellow Div 3 side Merton G also went right down to the wire in the ninth game, but Bill Page (+21) unfortunately lost to Merton’s Peter Dexter (+17) 27-31, 29-31. Progress also ground to a halt for the D team (Chris Pusey, Terry Jenvey & Bob Fagan) as they lost 1-5 to Winton YMCA C, and the F team (Malcolm Nash, Sylvia Smith & Eddie Tomkins) who lost 3-6 to Nimrod A. Full result details are below:-


New Milton A (Premier) 5 Winton YMCA B (Div 1) 2
(Steve Hemmings (6) 0, Phil Handy (+6) 3, Matthew Daish (+7) 2)


New Milton C (Div 2) 5 Winton YMCA E (Div 4) 4
(Malcolm Floyd (+14) 2, Malcolm Nash (+15) 0, Svet Ignatov (+16) 3)

New Milton D (Div 2) 1 Winton YMCA C (Div 1) 5
(Chris Pusey (+16) 0, Terry Jenvey (+15) 1, Bob Fagan (+16) 0)

Nimrod A (Div 4) 6 New Milton F (Div 3) 3
(Malcolm Nash (+21) 1, Sylvia Smith (+20) 1, Eddie Tomkins (+18) 1)

Merton G (Div 3) 5 New Milton G (Div 3) 4
(Simon Golding (15) 2, Bill Page (+21) 1, Bev Scott-Johns (+21) 1)

New Milton A are scheduled to play Merton A in the Cup Final on Monday 7th April at the Merton Club (Southbourne), and the Plate Semi-Final between New Milton C and Merton G will take place on Monday 14th April at the Winton YMCA Hall.

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 27/03/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: