Now that the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league programme has finished, the New Milton Club can take stock of the final league tables with a mixture of pleasure and pain. The top three divisions make better reading for the club than the lower three where three of the club’s teams have been relegated to lower divisions.

The A team (Captain Steve Hemmings, Matthew Daish, Phil Handy & Umit Kaya) more than held their own in the Premier to finish third out of six teams.

In Div 1, the B team (Captain Shaun Newcomb, Brian Bickell, Zoltan Karip-Barath, John Millward & Julie Smillie) staved off relegation fears mid-way through the season to finish precisely mid-table thanks to a better games difference than Merton B.

Div 2 saw the C, E & D teams clustered together in third, fourth and fifth places respectively. The E team (Captain Frank Handy, Andrew, Peter & Simon Daish, Bobo Jiang and Gerard Redman) were top of the pile for most of the season and only slipped out of the top two in their penultimate match of the campaign. The in-form C team (Captain Dave Cuddon, Malcolm Floyd, Svet Ignatov & Matt Winter) deprived their E team of third place in their final match of the season against the D team (Captain Terry Jenvey, Bob Fagan and Chris Pusey. The D’s other squad member Roy Hobbs was out most of the season through injury).

The final week saw the F and G teams slug it out together in Div 3 to see who would drop down to Div 4, as they started the week second from bottom and third from bottom respectively. It ended up a draw which meant that the F’s (Captain Malcolm Nash, Ian Linney, Sylvia Smith & Eddie Tompkins) went down instead of the G’s (Captain Bev Scott-Johns, Simon Golding, Bill Page & Clive Pitts) who finished up third from bottom.

Going into the final week, the H team (Captain Les Smith, Kai Major, John Parkhouse & Dan Williams) and the J team (Captain Malcolm Douglas, Geoff Biggs, Dee Flanagan, Keith Kensley & Mike Roberts) were already doomed, so their local derby match simply determined who would end up bottom and second from bottom of Div 4. The J’s lost so they remained bottom, which was particularly disappointing for them as this was essentially the same team who were promoted from Div 5 only last season.

In Div 5, the K team squad (Lucy Craddock, Fern Daish, Campbell Golding, Lisa McGivney, Alex Whitehead & Lynn Willrich) did extremely well to finish up fifth out of eleven teams. The Kays really came into their own in the second half of the season, only losing two out of their ten matches. If the squad remains unchanged for the next season they could well be in contention for a promotion place. Although the L team came bottom, the big squad of Captain Sibyl Bartlett, Richard Brockbank, Richard Clampin, Bill Collinge, Dane Major, Andrew & Dominic Stainton and Sue Wootton-Freeman remained undaunted throughout a challenging season.  Full league tables are below:-


About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 02/05/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: