The Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league got underway last week with the New Milton Club coming up with three wins out of six, one of the wins coming at the expense of one of their own teams in a local derby.

Div 2 saw the E team square up to the D team, with the E’s claiming first bragging rights over their club mates with a 7-3 victory down at The Grange School, Somerford. The club has recently moved from the Arnewood School to the Dorset Table Tennis Centre at the Grange, but also continues to play home matches at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre.

The H team’s Dee Flanagan will remember the opening week for some time as she chalked up her first ever hat-trick in the league. Not content with this excellent treble, she teamed up with captain Les Smith to win the doubles to give her team maximum points over Merton J down at Mudeford Wood.

Brian Vibert returned to action for Milton with a hat-trick for the A team in the Premier, and 13 year old Matthew Daish also scored a full house for the premier team. The club’s other treble-maker was Frank Handy who captained his E team to victory over the D team.

Full results details are below:-


New Milton A 8 Merton B 2

(Brian Vibert 3, Matthew Daish 3, Steve Hemmings 2)


Breamore 6 New Milton C 4

(Svet Ignatov 1, Zoltan Ordog 2, Malcolm Floyd 1)


New Milton E 7 New Milton D 3

(E Team: Andrew Daish 1, Frank Handy 3, Peter Daish 2)

(D Team: Chris Pusey 2, Terry Jenvey 0, Bob Fagan 1)


Merton H 7 New Milton F 3

(Malcolm Nash 1, Sylvia Smith 0, Mike Roberts 2)


New Milton H 8 Merton J 2

(George Roberts 2, Dee Flanagan 3, Les Smith 2)


Merton K 6 New Milton K 4

(Stuart Burton 0, Andrew Stainton 2, Francis Benjamin 2)

Having moved to bigger premises at the Grange, the club is on the lookout for more members from experienced players to novices. Club nights are Sundays and Thursdays at the Grange, and the first night is free. Anybody interested should give club secretary Bev Scott-Johns a call on 01425 619552, or just turn up on the night.

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 04/10/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: