The New Milton Table Tennis Club’s teams came up with four wins out of ten matches in the Bournemouth and District league last week. The J team were celebrating their first win of the campaign while their captain Lynn Willrich was away on business in Florida. Fourteen year old Campbell Golding bagged a brace in his very first match of the season, and was joined in his double by 13 year old Elliott Storr-Smith and the not-quite-so-young Geoff Biggs to make it 6-4 against Bmth Sports N in Div 5.

Another thirteen year old, Kai Major is now scoring hat-tricks for fun as his treble helped his D team to their second 7-3 win in a row in Div 2, this week against North Bmth away at Winton. Also in Div 2, the E team got back to winning ways as they beat Merton F 8-2 courtesy of hat-tricks from captain Frank Handy and James Lewis home at the Grange. The club’s best win however came in Div 3 as the G team hammered the high-flying Merton G 9-1 at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre. Danny Williams (pictured below) came up with his second hat-trick of the season whilst Simon Daish topped that with his third treble.

 SWAY160111 006

The Premier saw the top of the table clash where mathematically at least the New Milton A team could exchange places at the top of the league with leaders Bmth Sports B if they beat them. As it happened the Bourne team turned up a player short which gifted Milton a point from their 3-7 defeat.


New Milton A 3 Bmth Sports B 7

(Brian Vibert 0, Steve Hemmings 0, John Millward)


New Milton B 4 Merton C 6

(John Millward 0, Brian Bickell 2, Zoltan Karip-Barath 1)

Bmth Sports C 9 New Milton C 1

(Julie Smillie 0, Malcolm Floyd 1, Matt Winter 0)


North Bmth 3 New Milton D 7

(Terry Jenvey 1, Chris Pusey 2, Kai Major 3)

New Milton E 8 Merton F 2

(James Lewis 3, Peter Daish 2, Frank Handy 3)


Bmth Sports G 7 New Milton F 3

(Sylvia Smith 2, Eddie Tomkins 1, Malcolm Nash 0)

New Milton G 9 Merton G 1

(Simon Golding 2, Simon Daish 3, Danny Williams 3)


New Milton H 2 Shamrock A 8

(George Roberts 1, Les Smith 1, Malcolm Douglas 0)


New Milton J 6 Bmth Sports N 4

(Campbell Golding 2, Elliott Storr-Smith 2, Geoff Biggs 2)

Merton L 10 New Milton K 0

(Miriam Mather 0, Richard Clampin 0, Andrew Stainton 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 27/11/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: