The New Milton Table Tennis Club improved on their two wins from the opening week of the Bournemouth and District league by winning six out of their ten matches in Week 2. The A team who had a bye in the opening week got their Premiership campaign off to a brilliant start with 9-1 drubbing of Broadstone A in their own back yard. Captain Steve Hemmings and Brian Vibert (pictured below) scored hat tricks, pairing to win the doubles, and excellent new signing Doug Gerrish bagged a maiden brace.


The newly promoted E team completely reversed their opening week defeat in Div 2 with a 7-3 win over Broadstone C, courtesy of hat-tricks from Peter Daish and Simon Golding. New Milton have three teams in Div 4 this season and the happy triumvirate all recorded wins. The most emphatic came from the H team who whitewashed Winton YMCA C 10-0 thanks to hat-tricks from Lynn Willrich (captain), Dave Strike and promising new signing John Childs. In Div 5, the K team were gifted three games and a point as Shamrock C turned up a player short at the Grange. Captain Stuart Burton, James Harper and John Parkhouse all beat Shamrock’s Lori Ryder to win the match 6-4 and secure the precious three points.


Broadstone A 1 New Milton A 9

(Steve Hemmings 3, Brian Vibert 3, Doug Gerrish 2)

New Milton B 5 Merton C 5

(John Millward 1, John Hook 3, Shaun Newcomb 1)


Bmth Sports C 8 New Milton C 2

(Matt Winter 0, Simon Daish 0, Gerard Redman)

Merton E 10 New Milton D 0

(Chris Pusey 0, Bev Scott-Johns 0, Terry Jenvey 0)


New Milton E 7 Broadstone C 3

(Peter Daish 3, Bev Scott-Johns 0, Simon Golding 3)


Nimrod B 4 New Milton F 6

(Sylvia Smith 2, Malcolm Nash 1, Mike Roberts 2)

New Milton G 7 Merton K 3

(Graham Underwood 2, Lewis Reading 2, Eddie Tompkins 2)

Winton YMCA C 0 New Milton H 10

(Dave Strike 3, John Childs 3, Lynn Willrich 3)


Winton YMCA D 10 New Milton J 0

(Richard Brockbank 0, Mike Gent 0, Keith Kensley 0)

New Milton K 6 Shamrock C 4

(Stuart Burton 1, James Harper 1, John Parkhouse 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 08/10/2015, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: