The New Milton Club came up with three wins out of seven matches in the Bournemouth and District league last week, all three being maximum four-pointers.

In the Premier league, the A team recovered from their 9-1 drubbing by league leaders Bmth Sports A last week to beat Merton B 10-0 down at Mudeford Wood. Milton were gifted three games as Merton turned up a player short and Russell Wilson, Brian Vibert and new signing Doug Gerrish rubbed it in by all beating Sean McLean and Darren Bellis. Wilson and Vibert combined clinically to see off the Merton pairing in three straight sets to pile on the misery.

The club’s other two wins came in Div 4 where the the G team hammered basement boys Bmth Sports L 9-1 in their own back yard. Captain Les Smith (pictured below) led from the front with an excellent hat-trick and was joined in a treble by Eddie Tompkins and the home-coming Lewis Reading, his first of the campaign.

les smith 25-10-2009 20-45-37

The still unbeaten H team travelled to Southbourne and beat Merton K 8-2 courtesy of second hat-tricks from new signings Paul Iliffe and John Childs. Dave Strike chipped in with the one win and watched as Iliffe and Childs won the doubles to secure the four points.

Unfortunately it was deja-vu all over again in Div 1 for C team captain Frank Handy as for the second week running his team lost 4-6 despite hat-tricks from the man himself.  Full result details are below:-


New Milton A 10 Merton B 0

(Russell Wilson 2, Brian Vibert 2, Doug Gerrish 2)


Broadstone B 6 New Milton C 4

(Frank Handy 3, Simon Daish 1, Andrew Daish 0)

New Milton D 2 Ringwood A 8

(Chris Pusey 1, David Cuddon 1, Roy Hobbs 0)


Bmth Sports L 1 New Milton G 9

(Les Smith 3, Eddie Tompkins 3, Lewis Reading 3)

Merton K 2 New Milton H 8

(John Childs 3, Paul Iliffe 3, Dave Strike 1)


New Milton J 5 Merton M 5

(Richard Brockbank 2, Geoff Biggs 2, Keith Kensley 1)

New Milton K 3 Nimrod D 7

(Stuart Burton 1, Andrew Stainton 1, John Parkhouse 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 27/10/2015, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: