In the final week of the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis League, the New Milton A team secured runners-up spot in the Premier thanks to an 8-2 maximum points win over Bournemouth Sports B. Teenager Matt Daish (pictured below) scored his fifth Premier hat-trick and Doug Gerrish and Brian Vibert bagged a brace apiece. The last time Milton took second place was back in 2010/2011; this season the squad benefited from excellent new signing Gerrish and the homecoming of Russell Wilson.


Milton’s B team rubbed it in to their A team’s closest rivals, a depleted Merton A team, by beating them 8-2, although by then the A team had already landed second spot by their own devices.

Going into the final week, the F team had already clinched the Division 4 title, but hammered home their credentials by beating second-placed Bournemouth Sports K 7-3, having only drawn against them in the first round. Steve Cheesman and Mike Roberts rounded off an excellent season with a treble apiece.

Also in Division 4, the H team did likewise to Nimrod B, their own 7-3 victory pipping their victims at the post to take third place. Paul Iliffe did his bit by scoring his ninth hat-trick out of eleven matches in his maiden season.

Division 5 saw the J team gifted a point and three games as close rivals Nimrod C turned up a player short at their own venue. Captain Malcolm Douglas and Mike Gent added to the advantage by beating Chris Courage and Mike Melaniphy, both ex-Milton players, and Richard Brockbank also took Courage. Full results details appear below:-


New Milton A 8 Bmth Sports B 2

(Doug Gerrish 2, Matt Daish 3, Brian Vibert 2)

Merton A 2 New Milton B 8

(Shaun Newcomb 1, John Hook 2, John Millward 1)


New Milton C 4 Merton E 6

(Andrew Daish 0, Gerard Redman 2, Frank Handy 1)

New Milton D 2 Bmth Sports D 8

(Terry Jenvey 1, Bob Fagan 0, Chris Pusey 1)


Merton F 5 New Milton E 5

(Simon Golding 2, Paul Nelson 0, Clive Pitts 2)


New Milton F 7 Bmth Sports K 3

(Malcolm Nash 0, Steve Cheesman 3, Mike Roberts 3)

New Milton H 7 Nimrod B 3

(Elliott Storr-Smith 2, Paul Iliffe 3, John Childs 2)


Nimrod C 2 New Milton J 8

(Malcolm Douglas 2, Mike Gent 2, Richard Brockbank 1)

Elec-Trick 7 New Milton K 3

(Donald Dow 0, Stuart Burton 0, John Parkhouse 2)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 30/03/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: