For the second year running, a team from the New Milton Table Tennis Club had reached the final of the Annual Times & Directory Handicap Plate competition. Last year it was won by their D team (Terry Jenvey, Chris Pusey & Kai Major), and this season it was the G team (Eddie Tompkins, Graham Underwood & Lewis Reading) seeking to keep the Plate within the club.

The Gees had already seen off their own B team in the semi-final, and their opponents Merton H (Simon King, Rob Searle & Christine Renaut) had done likewise to their own club mates in the Merton D team. The New Milton side usually ply their trade in Div 4 of the Bournemouth and District league whereas Merton play in Div 3, both teams ending up mid-table.

The handicapping reflected the league differential with Simon King giving a +5 start, Rob Searle conceding 6 and Christine Renault giving the less generous +3 start to the Milton players.

Milton went 2-0 up with Reading beating King 21-19, 21-14 and Underwood seeing off Rob Searle 21-19, 13-21, 21-10. It looked like Milton were going to go 3-0 up as Eddie Tompkins took the first end off Christine Renaut, but Renaut tantalisingly edged the next two 21-20, 21-19 to peg one back for Merton. Next up was Rob Searle who breezed past Reading 21-17, 21-16 to level things off at 2-2.

All eyes were on Tompkins who just edged his match against King 21-20, 21-19, then Underwood beat Renaut in a very tight sixth match 20-21, 21-19, 21-16 to put Milton 4-2 up.

Merton needed to win the next match to stay in the final, and Searle duly obliged by just getting the better of Tompkins 21-16, 17-21, 21-19. Milton started to get the jitters as Renaut saw off Reading in two straight ends 21-19, 21-19 to level things off at 4-4. The decider was between Underwood who was looking for his hat-trick and King who had lost both his matches, but Milton weren’t counting their chickens as King had only just lost out to Tompkins. Underwood starting off +5 quickly pulled away in the first end to take it comfortably 21-9 and won the second 21-14 to secure the Plate for New Milton.  The victorious G team are pictured below (l-r Eddie Tompkins, Graham Underwood & Lewis Reading):-


About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 11/05/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: