In the final week of the first round of matches in the Bournemouth & District Table Tennis league, the New Milton Club came up with five draws out of their ten matches. Three of the matches had a 10-0 scoreline with only one of its teams coming out on the wrong side of a whitewash.

Div 2 saw the D team (Terry Jenvey, Chris Pusey & Malcolm Floyd) hold leaders Bmth Sports H to a hard-fought 5-5 draw in their own back yard. Pusey bagged a brace including a fantastic win over the previously unbeaten Jordan Pang. Having received some stern coaching from father David, young Pang went on to narrowly beat captain Jenvey 11-9 in their fifth and final set and then Floyd over four sets. With another brace from Floyd and one win from Jenvey, Milton needed the doubles to become only the second side to beat the leaders. Jenvey and Pusey went 2-1 up against Bourne captain Gavin Coppard and Walid Ashour but the Milton pairing faded in the final two sets to have to settle for a still creditable draw.

Impressive new signing Liam Iliffe (pictured below) marked his league debut with a magnificent brace for the G team in their 5-5 draw against Merton H in Div 3. Iliffe’s father Paul was voted Milton’s most improved player last season and now Liam looks to be blazing his own trail.liamiliffe041216

Div 4 saw the H team hammer basement boys Bmth Sports M 10-0 thanks to hat-tricks from Lewis Reading and Eddie Tompkins, their first of the season, and yet another treble from Dave Sutton. In Div 5, the K team were awarded their 10-0 victory aganst bottom-dwellers Parkstone who were unable to put out a team. Also in Div 5, the L team (James Harper, Stuart Burton & Maggie Brown) lost 0-10 to runaway leaders Winton YMCA E. Full results are below:-


Ringwood A 4 New Milton A 6

(Steve Hemmings 2, Umit Kaya 3, Russell Wilson 1)

New Milton B 5 Winton YMCA A 5

(John Millward 2, John Hook 2, Shaun Newcomb 1)


New Milton C 5 Bmth Sports D 5

(Frank Handy 1, Andy Tipsana 1, Rob Blackmore 2)

Bmth Sports H 5 New Milton D 5

(Terry Jenvey 1, Chris Pusey 2, Malcolm Floyd 2)


New Milton E 6 North Bmth A 4

(Simon Golding 1, Peter Daish 2, Andrew Daish 0)


Ringwood C 5 New Milton F 5

(Steve Cheesman 3, Sylvia Smith 0, Malcolm Nash 2)

Merton H 5 New Milton G 5

(Graham Underwood 3, Bev Scott-Johns 0, Liam Iliffe 2)


New Milton H 10 Bmth Sports M 0

(Lewis Reading 3, Dave Sutton 3, Eddie Tompkins 3)


New Milton K 10 Parkstone 0

(Parkstone were unable to put out a team)

Winton YMCA E 10 New Milton L 0

(James Harper 0, Stuart Burton 0, Maggie Brown 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 07/12/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: