Two of the New Milton Table Tennis Club’s teams suffered relegation in the Bournemouth and District league last season; the G team from Div 2 and the C team from the Premier. Both teams are doing their level best to jump back at the first time of asking, but the G team went into the Christmas break at the top of Div 3.

The G team (Dave Cuddon, Bob Fagan, Terry Jenvey & Chris Pusey) have won all of their matches apart from their narrow 6-4 loss in their derby against the J team, so they will be looking for revenge second time around. Captain Jenvey has led from the front with a 76% winning average, including five hat-tricks, one of them coming against the J team. Cuddon is just behind him on 75%, clearly benefiting from his year’s lay-off, and Pusey and Fagan are on 67% and 57% respectively. The Gees end the year at the top of Div 3 on 34 points with Bournemouth Sports K breathing down their necks on 31 points. Milton beat the Bourne 7-3 in their own back yard first time around, and the return match at Mudeford Wood on 19th February could be a cruncher, along with their return match against the Jays the previous week.  The G team, excluding Dave Cuddon are pictured below (l-r Chris Pusey, Bob Fagan, Terry Jenvey):-

Although the C team (Brian Bickell, John Millward & Shaun Newcomb) are placed fifth in Div 1 on 27 points, only one point separates them from Bournemouth Sports D who are second on 28 points. If star veteran player Bickell remains fit and wheelchair player Newcomb’s niggling wrist holds good, the C’s should be able to keep up the pressure for the second round of matches.

The H team (Ian Linney, Lewis Reading, Sylvia Smith, Les Smith & Dave Sutton) won the Div 4 title last year and are more than holding their own in Div 3 as they lie in sixth place on 22 points. Star player Sutton only lost one match all last season and can be very proud of his 76% winning average at the higher level.

With these and other successes in mind, the club members were in a buoyant mood at their Annual Christmas party which was held once again at the Carpenters Arms in Bransgore. A good time was had by all 18 members and guests present, and the raffle raised £50 for the Oakhaven Hospice Trust.

In his traditional after-dinner speech, club secretary Bev Scott-Johns mentioned that the past twelve months had been a mixture of considerable success for the club’s teams and players, but tinged with sadness with the sudden passing of popular member Roy Hobbs in October. Roy had been a member of the club since 2007 and several club members attended his funeral at the Test Valley Crematorium.

Turning to the club’s successes, Bev mentioned the two league promotions last season as well as one of the teams coming runner-up in the Times and Directory Handicap Plate competition. In the Bournemouth and District Individual Tournaments held during March, New Milton players won a club record haul of trophies (nine titles and four runners-up).

For the first time in the club’s history, 12 teams were entered into the Bournemouth & District league for the current season, one more than last season. Terry Jenvey’s G team are currently top of Div 3 and Simon Heaps’ B team are third in the Premier.

Back in May, the club received Clubmark re-accreditation, which is Sport England’s national accreditation scheme for high quality community sports clubs. An accredited club is recognised as a safe, rewarding and fulfilling place for participants of all ages, as well as helping parents and carers know that that they are choosing the right club for their young people.

Thanks were extended to club Welfare Officer Lynn Willrich for making the arrangements for such a successful evening.

The club is always on the lookout for new members, from experienced players to absolute beginners, and in particular lady players and juniors. Anybody interested in joining our very friendly club should contact Bev on 01425 619552.

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 03/01/2018, in 1. News, 2. League Reports, 4. Club Events. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: