One of the New Milton Table Tennis Club’s teams has made it through to the semi-finals of the annual Times & Directory Handicap Cup competition but the two other teams crashed out of the Cup. There was more success in the “Plate” as the three Milton teams booked their places in the quarter-finals.

In the Cup, the J Team (Plamen Petrov, John Parkhouse & Mike Roberts) from Div 3 disposed of Premier outfit Merton B by 5-2 thanks to a really good team performance. Impressive new signing Petrov (pictured below) carried his league form into the cup by winning both of his matches, Parkhouse won two out of three and captain Roberts won one of out of two.

The D team (Frank Handy, Gerard Redman & Mike Roberts) from Div 1 found the handicaps really heavy going against Winton YMCA F (Div 4) and were soundly beaten 9-0 at Winton. Unfased by the heavy defeat, the Milton players sportingly played the remainder of the matches having already lost the match at 5-0.

Milton’s other Div 1 team (John Millward, Brian Bickell & Shaun Newcomb) had a closer match against Ringwood B (Div 2) but lost 6-3, replies coming from England veteran Bickell (2) and captain Millward (1).

The G team featuring Chris Pusey, Bob Fagan & Dave Cuddon are sitting pretty atop Div 3 in the league and are replicating this success in the Plate. In their 5-3 victory over Winton YMCA E from Div 4, Cuddon played out of his skin to pick up his hat-trick, and Pusey won two out of his three matches.

Milton’s most impressive win came as the H team starring Dave Sutton, Sylvia Smith & Les Smith (no relation) from Div 3 beat Div 5 high-flyers Merton J 8-1 in their own back yard. Sutton and Ms Smith were on top form to take their hat-tricks and captain Smith bagged a brace.

The M team had a much easier passage into the quarter-finals of the Plate as Bmth Sports H had to concede their match because they were unable to put out a side. The L team’s fate is unknown as their match against Merton C was postponed.  Full results details are below:-


Ringwood B (Div 2) 6 New Milton C (Div 1) 3

(John Millward 1, Brian Bickell 2, Shaun Newcomb 0)

Winton YMCA F (Div 4) 9 New Milton D (Div 1) 0

(Frank Handy 0, Gerard Redman 0, Mike Roberts 0)

New Milton J (Div 3) 5 Merton B (Premier) 2

(Plamen Petrov 2, John Parkhouse 2, Mike Roberts 1)


Winton YMCA E (Div 4) 3 New Milton G (Div 3) 5

(Chris Pusey 2, Bob Fagan 0, Dave Cuddon 3)

Merton J (Div 5) 1 New Milton H (Div 3) 8

(Dave Sutton 3, Sylvia Smith 3, Les Smith 2)

New Milton M (Div 5) 9 Bmth Sports H (Div 2) 0

(Match conceded by Bmth Sports H)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 06/02/2018, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: