The New Milton Table Tennis Club won six out of their twelve matches in the Bournemouth & District league last week, one of the wins coming from a Milton interclub derby match. All of the wins came in the top two echelons of the league, apart from the Div 3 derby.

The A team had a very good week in the Premier as they did the double over both teams that they faced. First up, the team represented by Steve Hemmings (captain), Umit Kaya & Gerard Redman (playing up from Div 1) took maximum points off Broadstone A in their 8-2 win chez Broadstone. Kaya came up with his third hat-trick of the campaign, and Hemmings and Redman bagged a brace apiece. The doubles were required for the maximum four points and Hemmings & Kaya combined clinically to see off the Broadstone pairing in three straight sets.

Their second match of the week was a rearranged fixture against Bmth Sports C, with Rob Blackmore, another Div 1 player replacing Gerard Redman on this occasion. This time it was Captain Hemmings’ turn for the hat-trick, with Kaya and Blackmore adding one each to the tally. The doubles again proved decisive, this time for the win, and once again Hemmings & Kaya came up trumps over three straight sets which made it 6-4.

The Div 3 derby saw the table-topping G team avenge and reverse their first round 6-4 defeat at the hands of their club mates in the J team who are mid-table. Unfortunate to end up on the losing side, 14 year old Adam Titcombe (pictured below) played exceptionally well to win two of his matches, only losing out to G’s very experienced Terry Jenvey (captain). 

Full results details appear below:-


Broadstone A 2 New Milton A 8

(Umit Kaya 3, Steve Hemmings 2, Gerard Redman 2)

Bmth Sports C 4 New Milton A 6

(Umit Kaya 1, Steve Hemmings 3, Rob Blackmore 1)

New Milton B 6 Winton YMCA A 4

(Brian Bickell 1, Jack Trafford 2, Simon Heaps 2)


New Milton C 7 Merton D 3

(John Millward 1, Brian Bickell 3, Shaun Newcomb 2)

Bmth Sports D 4 New Milton D 6

(Gerard Redman 3, Paul Iliffe 0, Rob Blackmore 2)


Ringwood B 7 New Milton E 3

(Andrew Daish 0, Simon Daish 2, Chris Pusey 1)

Winton YMCA B 9 New Milton F 1

(Malcolm Floyd 0, Steve Cheesman 0, Ben Greene 1)


New Milton J 4 New Milton G 6

(J Team: Plamen Petrov 2, Adam Titcombe 2, John Parkhouse 0)

(G Team: Chris Pusey 2, Terry Jenvey 2, David Cuddon 1)

New Milton H 3 Bmth Sports J 7

(Sylvia Smith 0, Les Smith 1, Dave Sutton 2)


New Milton K 4 Winton YMCA E 6

(Sid Daynes 2, Mike Gent 1, Lynn Willrich 1)


Bmth Sports N 9 New Milton L 1

(Chris Courage 1, Geoff Biggs 0, Mike Melaniphy 0)

New Milton M 5 Merton K 5

(Taki Hall 2, Stuart Burton 3, Maggie Brown 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 19/02/2018, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: