The final league tables of the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league show that two of the New Milton Club’s teams have won promotion, and there were happily once again no relegations.

New Milton G (Captain Frank Handy, Bobo Jiang, Andrew, Peter & Simon Daish, not forgetting super-sub Matthew Winter) go up to Div 2 as Div 3 champions and the J team (Captain Malcolm Douglas, Geoff Biggs, Keith Kensley, Jon Morley, Mike Roberts, Richard Ursell & Sammy Watkins) go up to Div 4 as runners-up of Div 5.

The H team only just missed out on promotion to Div 3 as they were pipped to second place by Bmth Sports R. Milton needed to draw against the Bourne in the final week of the season to go up instead of them but it wasn’t to be as they lost 4-6.

New Milton A had a bit of a blip midway through the season due to players being unavailable due to injuries and other absences, including Brian Bickell wintering as usual in South Africa. Brian Vibert managed to shrug off a niggling back problem and help captain Steve Hemmings, Umit Kaya and Phil Handy to steady the ship to end up a very respectable mid-table.

Full league tables are below:-


About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 01/05/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: