The Bournemouth and District Table Tennis League got underway last week with more lows than highs for the New Milton Club who entered eleven teams this season. Their tally for the week was 2 wins, 5 defeats and 3 draws, one of the ties coming from the first of the club’s local derbies between the E and C teams in Div 3.

Lightening the gloom somewhat, there was a brilliant Premier league debut from the club’s new signing, 14 year old Ben Cawston who kicked off with a brilliant hat-trick for the A team. 15 year old Peter Daish (E team), one of the stars of the team who won Div 3 last season, marked his Div 2 debut with a stunning hat-trick over his club mates in the C team. The other treble makers were England Veteran Brian Bickell (B team), Ian Linney (F team) and Simon Golding from the G team.


                                                                 Hat-trick hero Peter Daish in action.

Another of the club’s up and coming youngsters, 12 year old Kai Major also distinguished himself by bagging a brace while playing up a division for the F team in Div 3. Full results are below:-


Bmth Sports B 5 New Milton A 5

(Phil Handy 2, Steve Hemmings 0, Ben Cawston 3)


New Milton B 7 Broadstone A 3

(Shaun Newcomb 2, Brian Bickell 3, Zoltan Karip-Barath 1)


New Milton D 5 Bmth Sports F 5

(Terry Jenvey 2, Chris Pusey 1, Bev Scott-Johns 1)

New Milton E 5 New Milton C 5

(E Team: Andrew Daish 0, Frank Handy 1, Peter Daish 3)

(C Team: Matthew Winter 2, Svet Ignatov 1, Malcolm Floyd 2)


New Milton F 7 Bmth Sports H 3

(Ian Linney 3, Kai Major 2, Sylvia Smith 2)

Broadstone B 6 New Milton G 4

(Simon Golding 3, Bev Scott-Johns 0, Bill Page 1)


New Milton H 3 Nimrod A 7

(Danny Williams 2, Les Smith 0, John Parkhouse 1)

Nimrod B 9 New Milton J 1

(Geoff Biggs 0, Lynn Willrich 0, Malcolm Douglas 1)


New Milton K 2 Nimrod C 8

(Lynn Willrich 1, Fern Daish 1, Lucy Craddock 0)

Bmth Sports R 8 New Milton L 2

(Sibyl Bartlett 0, Sue Wootton-Freeman 0, Richard Brockbank 2)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 26/09/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: