You would have to go all the way back to the 2009/2010 season to find the last time that the New Milton Club failed to win any of their matches in the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league. And that’s when they only had eight teams instead of the eleven teams that they have now. The complete tally for last week was three draws, seven defeats and one bye.

The D team came the closest to victory as they only needed the doubles to beat Merton F in Div 2. The Milton pairing of Terry Jenvey (captain) and hat-trick hero Chris Pusey were 2-1 up after the third set and narrowly lost the fourth set by the tantalisingly close 10-12 scoreline. They ran out of steam a bit in the fifth and final set which they lost 4-11 to have to settle for the draw.

The only other Milton player to register a hat-trick was the E team captain Frank Handy whose side did very well to hold a very strong Bmth Sports F to a draw in their own back yard.


Captain Fantastic Frank Handy is in the middle

Full results are below:-


New Milton A 4 Bmth Sports B 6

(Umit Kaya 0, Phil Handy 1, Matthew Daish 0)

NB: Bmth Sports B were a player short.


Winton YMCA B 5 New Milton B 5

(Brian Bickell 2, Zoltan Karip-Barath 1, Julie Smillie 1)


New Milton C 4 Merton E 6

(Svet Ignatov 1, Malcolm Floyd 2, Dave Cuddon 1)

Merton F 5 New Milton D 5

(Terry Jenvey 1, Chris Pusey 3, Bob Fagan 1)

Bmth Sports F 5 New Milton E 5

(Peter Daish 1, Malcolm Douglas 0, Frank Handy 3)


Merton G 10 New Milton F 0

(Malcolm Nash 0, John Parkhouse 0, Sylvia Smith 0)

New Milton G 3 Bmth Sports J 7

(Bill Page 0, Simon Golding 2, Clive Pitts 1)


Winton YMCA E 6 New Milton H 4

(John Parkhouse 1, Dave Strike 2, Richard Brockbank 0)

New Milton J 3 Bmth Sports H 7

(Malcolm Douglas 0, Geoff Biggs 1, Mike Roberts 2)


New Milton L 1 Winton YMCA F 9

(Richard Clampin 0, Andrew Stainton 1, Dominic Stainton 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 03/10/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: