The New Milton Table Tennis Club had a slightly better week in the Bournemouth and District League as their teams won four out their ten matches, and the Golding family had a hand in two of those victories.

Simon Golding came up with his third hat-trick of the campaign to help his G team to a 6-4 victory over Breamore Batniks in Div 3. On the same night his 13 year old son Campbell (pictured below) bagged a brace to help his K team to the same scoreline over Shamrock C in Div 5 at the Arnewood School. Campbell displayed a maturity and tenacity beyond his years as both his wins came from two gruelling five-enders against wily Shamrock veterans Frank Godfrey and Lawrie Phillips. Fern Daish and Lynn Willrich were both ascloseasthis to coming up with their first hat-tricks of the campaign in this match, but both tantalisingly lost 11-13 over five ends to Shamrock’s Trevor Thompson.


The other Milton treble-makers were Phil Handy, who helped his A team to a 7-3 victory in the Premier, and Gerard Redman’s & Frank Handy’s full houses helped their table-topping E team to take maximum points in Div 2. This enabled them to put some more blue sky between them and the C team who could only manage a draw against North Bmth. Finally, Mike Roberts’s hat-trick secured a precious point for his J team who are currently lying bottom of Div 4. Full results details are below:-


Merton A 3 New Milton A 7

(Matthew Daish 2, Steve Hemmings 1, Phil Handy 3)


New Milton B 2 Winton YMCA C 8

(Shaun Newcomb 1, Julie Smillie, 1, John Millward 0)


North Bmth 5 New Milton C 5

(Dave Cuddon 2, Malcolm Floyd 1, Svet Ignatov 1)

New Milton E 8 Bmth Sports G 2

(Bobo Jiang 1, Gerard Redman 3, Frank Handy 3)


New Milton F 5 Merton H 5

(Sylvia Smith 2, Malcolm Nash 1, Eddie Tomkins 1)

Breamore 4 New Milton G 6

(Simon Golding 3, Bev Scott-Johns 0, Clive Pitts 2)


New Milton H 4 Merton K 6

(John Parkhouse 1, Danny Williams 1, Les Smith 1)

Shamrock A 7 New Milton J 3

(Geoff Biggs 0, Keith Kensley 0, Mike Roberts 3)


New Milton K 6 Shamrock C 4

(Fern Daish 2, Campbell Golding 2, Lynn Willrich 2)

Shamrock B 10 New Milton L 0

(Sibyl Bartlett 0, Sue Wotton-Freeman 0, Dane Major 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 05/12/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: