Eight of the New Milton Table Tennis Club’s teams were involved in local derbies in the Bournemouth and District League last week. The only team to face opposition from outside of the club was the Premier’s A team who picked up an excellent 9-1 victory over Winton YMCA A, including hat-tricks from captain Steve Hemmings and teenager Matthew Daish.

The clash between the C and D teams in Division 2 resulted in what is probably the longest ever table tennis match to take place down at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre. All of the matches apart from two went all the way to five ends including three 11-13 scorelines which all went the way of the D team. The C’s Malcolm Floyd was on the wrong end of two of these as he drew his first blank of the season as his team lost 4-6.  The victorious D team are pictured below (l-r Chris Pusey, Bobbie Fagan & Captain Terry Jenvey).


In Div 3, the G team beat the F team 7-3 aided and abetted by Clive Pitts’ first hat-trick of the campaign. In Div 4, the J team overturned the form book to beat the H team 6-4 thanks largely Mike Roberts’ fourth hat-trick of the season.

Div 5 saw the K team stick with the form book as they beat their L team 3-7 in their fourth win of the campaign. Lynn Willrich threatened to come up with her first hat-trick in her last league match but this week she did the deed. Alex Whitehead joined her in a treble and promising recent signing Lisa McGivney came up with her first win in only her second league outing. Full result details are below:-


New Milton A 9 Winton YMCA A 1

(Matthew Daish 3, Steve Hemmings 3, Umit Kaya 2)


New Milton C 4 New Milton D 6

(C Team: Matt Winter 1, Svet Ignatov 2, Malcolm Floyd 0)

(D Team: Chris Pusey 3, Terry Jenvey 2, Bob Fagan 1)


New Milton G 7 New Milton F 3

(G Team: Simon Golding 2, Clive Pitts 3, Bev Scott-Johns 1)

(F Team: Ian Linney 1, Sylvia Smith 1, Malcolm Nash 1)


New Milton J 6 New Milton H 4

(J Team: Dee Flanagan 2, Geoff Biggs 1, Mike Roberts 3)

(H Team: John Parkhouse 1, Kai Major 1, Les Smith 1)


New Milton L 3 New Milton K 7

(L Team: Richard Brockbank 1, Andrew Stainton 1, Dominic Stainton 0)

(K Team: Lynn Willrich 3, Alex Whitehead 3, Lisa McGivney 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 22/12/2013, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: