New Milton Table Tennis Club repeated their last week’s tally of three wins in the Bournemouth and District League, including a much needed victory for the struggling B side in Div 1. In their first win over five outings, the B’s started with a three game advantage as Lynwood A turned up a player short. This means that Milton have now been gifted five points by Lynwood who had to concede their first round fixture.

New Milton’s best result of the week came in Div 2 as the table-topping E team demolished Merton F 9-1 for the second time this season, this time in their own backyard. Gerard Redman came up with his fourth hat-trick of the campaign, having only dropped one game this season, and 15-year old Peter Daish (pictured below) joined him in his treble. Peter’s older brother Simon, in only his second outing of the season, narrowly missed out on his own treble as he lost over five ends to Merton’s willy veteran Graham Blake. Third-placed Bmth Sports F took three points off second-placed Merton E with a 7-3 win to take their place in the table. Milton are now on 40 points compared to the resurgent Bourne’s 35 points, but Milton still need to keep their eye on Merton E (33 points) who they still have to play.


Div 2 also saw the D team’s Bob Fagan prove that his last week’s hat-trick was no fluke as he did it again this week to help his team do the double over Lynwood C in a 6-4 win away at Parkstone. Club Secretary Bev Scott-Johns played up from Div 3 and did well to get a win at the higher level, and regular Chris Pusey bagged a brace.


New Milton A 3 Bmth Sports A 7

(Umit Kaya 0, Matthew Daish 1, Phil Handy 2)


Lynwood A 4 New Milton B 6

(Brian Bickell 2, John Millward 0, Shaun Newcomb 1)


New Milton C 5 Bmth Sports G 5

(Malcolm Floyd 2, Svet Ignatov 1, Dave Cuddon 2)

Lynwood C 4 New Milton D 6

(Chris Pusey 2, Bob Fagan 3, Bev Scott-Johns 1)

Merton F 1 New Milton E 9

(Gerard Redman 3, Peter Daish 3, Simon Daish 2)


Bmth Sports L 6 New Milton F 4

(Malcolm Nash 1, Ian Linney 2, Eddie Tomkins 1)


Bmth Sports N 5 New Milton H 5

(John Parkhouse 1, Les Smith 1, Kai Major 2)


Bmth Sports P 6 New Milton K 4

(Lynn Willrich 1, Alex Whitehead 2, Campbell Golding 1)

New Milton L 4 Bmth Sports S 6

(Richard Clampin 0, Andrew Stainton 2, Sibyl Bartlett 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 06/02/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sibyl Bartlett

    New Milton L 4 Bmth Sports S 6 (not NM. K)

  2. Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

    Thanks very much for spotting my deliberate (not!) mistake, which I have now corrected.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: