In a week in which the New Milton Table Tennis Club could only muster three wins once again in the Bournemouth and District League, the B team proved that they are back to winning ways with their second win in two weeks. Captained by wheelchair-player Shaun Newcomb (pictured below), the B team improved on a 6-4 first-round defeat against Merton B with a 7-3 win down at Mudeford Wood. Newcomb came up with his first hat-trick of the campaign, Zoltan Karip-Barath bagged a brace and Brian Bickell chipped in with the one win. Newcomb capped a fine evening by joining Bickell to win the doubles fairly comfortably in the end.

shaun newcomb

There were some other excellent captains’ performances last week, including Terry Jenvey’s treble which helped his D team hold Merton C to a 5-5 draw in Div 2. Also in Div 2, Frank Handy’s hat-trick helped his table-topping E team do the double over Lynwood C with a 6-4 win at the Arnewood School.

Other treble-makers to be mentioned in despatches were Dan Williams whose first hat-trick of the campaign helped his H team to scrape a point against Winton YMCA D in Div 4, and Fern Daish and Lynn Willrich whose trebles resulted in the K team doing the double over Winton YMCA G in Div 5. Full results details are below:-


Bmth Sports A 6 New Milton A 4

(Umit Kaya 1, Phil Handy 2, Peter Daish 0)


New Milton B 7 Merton B 3

(Shaun Newcomb 3, Brian Bickell 1, Zoltan Karip-Barath 2)


New Milton D 5 Merton D 5

(Chris Pusey 0, Terry Jenvey 3, Bob Fagan 1)

New Milton E 6 Lynwood C 4

(Gerard Redman 2, Frank Handy 3, Andrew Daish 0)


Merton H 8 New Milton G 2

(Clive Pitts 1, Bev Scott-Johns 0, Alex Whitehead 0)


New Milton H 4 Winton YMCA D 6

(John Parkhouse 1, Billy Collinge 0, Dan Williams 3)

Merton K 9 New Milton J 1

(Geoff Biggs 1, Keith Kensley 0, Malcolm Douglas 0)


New Milton K 7 Winton YMCA G 3

(Lynn Willrich 3, Lisa McGivney 0, Fern Daish 3)

Shamrock C 8 New Milton L 2

(Sibyl Bartlett 0, Richard Brockbank 2, Richard Clampin 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 13/02/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: