Girl Power Comes To Table Tennis! (Week 16 League Matches)

The New Table Tennis Club is on a bit of a crusade to bring more ladies into the sport and this was very much in evidence in the Bournemouth and District league last week, with seven of the fairer sex representing the club. Starting with the all female K team in Div 5 (Lynn Willrich, Fern Daish & Lucy Craddock), they reversed their 4-6 first-round defeat against Shamrock B by beating them 7-3 in their own back yard this time. Lynn (pictured below hitting the heights) came up with her second hat-trick in a row, Fern bagged a brace and 16 year old Lucy chipped in with the one win.


Julie Smillie’s win helped her B side to a hard-fought 5-5 away draw against Merton C in Div 1, and Dee Flanagan’s excellent brace helped her struggling J team to a 7-3 win over Merton J in Div 4. Sylvia Smith played up a division for the E team in Div 2, and her magnificent win helped them take a point off Merton D in a 3-7 defeat. Veteran Sibyl Bartlett, who captains the L team in Div 5, drew a blank but watched 15 year old Andrew Stainton come up with his first ever hat-trick in the league in their 3-7 defeat against Merton L.

Also worthy of a namecheck, Shaun Newcomb jumped up a division to the Premier and played out of his skin to join “A” team regular Phil Handy in a treble against Winton YMCA A. Veteran Brian Bickell came up with a full house for the B team (Div 1) in captain Newcomb’s absence, and Mike Roberts recorded his sixth hat-trick for the J team in Div 4. Full results details are below:-


New Milton A 9 Winton YMCA A 1

(Steve Hemmings 2, Phil Handy 3, Shaun Newcomb 3)


Merton C 5 New Milton B 5

(Brian Bickell 3, Julie Smillie 1, John Millward 1)


New Milton C 6 Ringwood A 4

(Matt Winter 2, Svet Ignatov 2, Malcolm Floyd 2)

North Bmth 7 New Milton D 3

(Chris Pusey 1, Terry Jenvey 2, Bob Fagan 0)

Merton D 7 New Milton E 3

(Sylvia Smith 1, Malcolm Douglas 0, Frank Handy 2


Breamore 7 New Milton F 3

(Ian Linney 1, Malcolm Nash 1, Eddie Tomkins 0)

New Milton G 2 Ringwood B 8

(Bev Scott-Johns 0, Clive Pitts 2, Mike Roberts 0)


Shamrock A 6 New Milton H 4

(Bill Collinge 0, Alex Whitehead 2, Dan Williams 2)

New Milton J 7 Merton J 3

(Dee Flanagan 2, Malcolm Douglas 1, Mike Roberts 3)


Shamrock B 3 New Milton K 7

(Lynn Willrich 3, Fern Daish 2, Lucy Craddock 1)

New Milton L 3 Merton L 7

(Andrew Stainton 3, Dominic Stainton 0, Sibyl Bartlett 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 27/02/2014, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: