Double Derby Delight For The Jays! (Week 13 Results)

The New Milton Table Tennis Club came up with four wins out of eight matches in the Bournemouth and District League, an exact repeat of their performance in the first round of matches.

Div 5 saw the second of the local derbies between the J and K teams with the Jays doing the double over their club mates. They improved on their first-round 6-4 win with the more emphatic 8-2 scoreline which included a hat-trick from Geoff Biggs, his first of the campaign.  J team captain Lynn Willrich (pictured below) bagged a brace as did thirteen year old Elliot Storr-Smith, and they combined well to win the doubles to land maximum points.


In the Premier, the A team did the double over Winton YMCA A and improved on their first-round 9-1 result with a 10-0 whitewash thanks to hat-tricks from captain Steve Hemmings, Brian Vibert and Phil Daish-Handy. The complete reverse happened to the struggling C side in Div 1 as they were drubbed 0-10 by Merton C away at Southbourne.

Also in Div 1 the B team repeated their 8-2 victory over Merton E aided and abetted by hat-tricks from captain Shaun Newcomb and England veteran Brian Bickell. In Div 3, the table-topping G team did likewise to bottom-dwellers Ringwood C thanks to trebles from Simon Golding and Clive Pitts.  Full results details appear below:-


New Milton A 10 Winton YMCA A 0

(Brian Vibert 3, Phil Daish-Handy 3, Steve Hemmings 3)


New Milton B 8 Merton E 2

(John Millward 1, Brian Bickell 3, Shaun Newcomb 3)

Merton C 10 New Milton C 0

(Malcolm Floyd 0, Zoltan Ordog 0, Svet Ignatov 0)


Ringwood B 8 New Milton D 2

(Chris Pusey 1, Terry Jenvey 1, Bev Scott-Johns 0)


Merton G 9 New Milton F 1

(John Parkhouse 0, Eddie Tomkins 1, Mike Roberts 0)

New Milton G 8 Ringwood C 2

(Simon Golding 3, Clive Pitts 3, Bev Scott-Johns 1)


New Milton H 3 Winton YMCA A 7

(Malcolm Douglas 1, George Roberts 0, Les Smith 2)


New Milton J 8 New Milton K 2

(J Team: Lynn Willrich 2, Geoff Biggs 3, Elliott Storr-Smith 2

(K Team: Francis Benjamin 0, Andrew Stainton 2, Richard Clampin 0)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 22/01/2015, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: