The New Milton Table Tennis Club repeated their last week’s haul of four wins in the Bournemouth and District league which was a significant improvement over their solitary victory in the first round of matches. This was due to the conversion of three results from draws to wins.

In Div 2, the high-flying E team (Frank Handy, Gerard Redman & Bobo Jiang) improved on their first-round draw against Ringwood A with an 8-2 victory away at Greyfriars. Captain Frank Handy led from the front with his customary hat-trick whilst Redman got off the mark with a hat-trick from his very first match for the E’s this season. It was a busy week for Redman (pictured below) as the previous evening he played up in Div 1 for the struggling C team in their 1-9 thrashing at the hands of table-toppers Bmth Sports D. You’ve guessed it, it was the man himself who spared Milton’s blushes by avoiding a repeat of their first round whitewash by beating Bourne’s irrepressible Charlie Chang.

gerard redman-1

Also in Div 2, the D team (Chris Pusey, Kai Major & Norma Millward) upgraded their first-round draw against the struggling Bmth Sports F with a 7-3 victory at Mudeford Wood. Teenage sensation Kai Major came up with his fifth hat-trick of the campaign which included a terrific straight-sets victory over the much more experienced David Pang who had already seen off Pusey and Millward.

It was trebles all round for the G team (Simon Golding, Simon Daish & Clive Pitts) as they tightened their grip at the top of Div 3 with 10-0 whitewash over Bmth Sports G having drawn against them in the first round.

The club’s other treble-maker was Hungarian Zoltan Karip-Barath whose first hat-trick of the campaign helped his B team do the double over Bmth Sports C in Div 1, this time with maximum points from their 8-2 victory.


Bmth Sports C 2 New Milton B 8

(Brian Bickell 2, Shaun Newcomb 2, Zoltan Karip-Barath 3)

New Milton C 1 Bmth Sports D 9

(Malcolm Floyd 0, Julie Smillie 0, Gerard Redman 1)


New Milton D 7 Bmth Sports F 3

(Chris Pusey 2, Kai Major 3, Norma Millward 1)

Ringwood A 2 New Milton E 8

(Frank Handy 3, Gerard Redman 3, Bobo Jiang 1)


New Milton F 5 Bmth Sports H 5

(Malcolm Nash 1, Eddie Tompkins 1, Mike Roberts 2)

Bmth Sports G 0 New Milton G 10

(Simon Golding 3, Simon Daish 3, Clive Pitts 3)


Merton L 10 New Milton J 0

(Geoff Biggs 0, Lynn Willrich 0, James Harper 0)

New Milton K 3 Winton YMCA E 7

(Richard Clampin 1, Andrew Stainton 1, Stuart Burton 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 28/01/2015, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: