In the penultimate week of the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league, the New Milton Club’s teams won four out of their nine matches. However, it was the last match of the season for the Premier’s A team as they have a bye in the final week, and they did the double over the already relegated Winton YMCA B with a 6-4 win at Winton. Milton were a player short but captain Steve Hemmings and Matthew Daish both scored hat-tricks to end on personal highs.

Div 2 saw the table-topping E team (Gerard Redman, Frank Handy & Simon Golding) do the double over basement boys Bmth Sports F who turned up a player short. In their 8-2 maximum pointer captain Handy and the unbeaten Redman beat both players who did show and then wiped the floor with the Bourne pairing in the doubles.

In Div 1, the B team (John Millward, Zoltan Karip-Barath & Brian Bickell) beat promotion contenders Lynwood A 7-3 to leap-frog over them to take second place. England veteran Bickell (pictured below) came up with his ninth hat-trick of the campaign, Karip-Barath bagged a brace and Millward chipped in with the one win. Heady stuff for the Bees who are now on 46 points with Lynwood on 44 points, but Lynwood have a game in hand.


The G team (Simon Daish, Clive Pitts & Danny Williams) who have already won the Div 3 title by a country mile did the double over Broadstone A with a 6-4 win at their place. Daish came up with his ninth hat-trick of the campaign and teamed up with Pitts to take the doubles to seal the win.

Thirteen year old Kai Major played up a division for the already doomed C team in Div 1 but still managed to come up with his ninth hat-trick of the season. Despite this, the C team still lost 4-6 to Broadstone A as Milton’s only other win came from captain Malcolm Floyd who beat his old nemesis Terry Luxton. Full results are below:-


Winton YMCA B 4 New Milton A 6

(Matthew Daish 3, Steve Hemmings 3)


Lynwood A 3 New Milton B 7

(Zoltan Karip-Barath 2, John Millward 1, Brian Bickell 3)

New Milton C 4 Broadstone A 6

(Zoltan Ordog 0, Kai Major 3, Malcolm Floyd 1)


Bmth Sports F 2 New Milton E 8

(Gerard Redman 2, Simon Golding 0, Frank Handy 2)


New Milton F 3 Nimrod A 7

(Malcolm Nash 0, Eddie Tompkins 0, Mike Roberts 2)

Broadstone C 4 New Milton G 6

(Simon Daish 3, Clive Pitts 1, Danny Williams 1)


Nimrod B 8 New Milton H 2

(Les Smith 0, George Roberts 2, Malcolm Douglas 0)


Winton YMCA F 5 New Milton J 5

(Geoff Biggs 2, Lynn Willrich 2, James Harper 0)

New Milton K 1 Bmth Sports P 9

(Miriam Mather 0, Stuart Burton 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 21/04/2015, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: