The New Milton Table Tennis Club came up with four wins in the final week of the Bournemouth & District league, two of which came at the expense of their own teams in their local derbies. The E team won the Div 2 title to go up to Div 1 and the G team take their place as they are champions of Div 3.

The first of the derbies came in Div 1 where the second placed B team repeated their first round 8-2 victory over their already relegated C team. England veteran Brian Bickell came up with his tenth hat-trick and Zoltan Karip-Barath joined him in a treble. The C team’s two wins came from Julie Smillie and Kai Major who both beat the B’s captain Shaun Newcomb who only managed to beat Zoltan Ordog.

Div 3 saw the club’s other derby where the title winning G team did the double over the bottommost F team, courtesy of hat-tricks from Simon Golding and Clive Pitts. At least the F’s avoided a repeat of the first round whitewash as Sylvia Smith and Eddie Tompkins both got the better of hard bat specialist Danny Williams. Smith paired well with Mike Roberts to take the doubles to make their defeat more palatable at 3-7.

Already Div 2 champions, the E team improved on a first round draw with Lynwood B to beat them 7-3 aided and abetted by a hat-trick from the unbeaten Gerard Redman. Captain Frank Handy bagged a brace and Andrew Daish added one more to the tally.

The club’s other win came in Div 5 as the J team also improved on a first round draw as they beat Nimrod D 7-3 in their own back yard. Man of the match was thirteen year old Elliott Storr-Smith (pictured below) who came up with his third hat-trick then teamed with Geoff Biggs to win the doubles.

elliottstorr-smithoct2014Full results are below:-


New Milton B 8 New Milton C 2

(B Team: Shaun Newcomb 1, Brian Bickell 3, Zoltan Karip-Barath 3)

(C Team: Julie Smillie 1, Zoltan Ordog 0, Kai Major 1)


Broadstone B 9 New Milton D 1

(Chris Pusey 0, Bob Fagan 0, Terry Jenvey 1)

New Milton E 7 Lynwood B 3

(Gerard Redman 3, Frank Handy 2, Andrew Daish 1)


New Milton G 7 New Milton F 3

(G Team: Simon Golding 3, Danny Williams 1, Clive Pitts 3)

(F Team: Sylvia Smith 1, Eddie Tompkins 1, Mike Roberts 0)


Nimrod D 3 New Milton 7

(Elliott Storr-Smith 3, Geoff Biggs 2, Lynn Willrich 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 28/04/2015, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: