The New Milton Table Tennis Club came up with four wins in the Bournemouth and District league last week, albeit three of them came at the expense of their own teams in their three local derbies.

The derbies all went the way of the form book and indeed it was a case of deja vu all over again for the Premier’s A & B teams and Div 4’s F & G teams as the results were the same as the first time round.

In the Premier, the A team beat the B team 8-2 for the second time, both teams fielding the same players. Wunderkind Matt Daish (pictured below) repeated his first round hat-trick, Brian Vibert scored a treble and Russell Wilson added one more to the tally, having lost to the B’s John Millward and John Hook. The doubles could have salvaged a point for the Bees but it wasn’t to be as Shaun Newcomb & John Hook lost to the formidable combination of Daish & Vibert.


Div 4 saw the table-topping F team repeat their 9-1 hammering of their G team courtesy of hat-tricks from Mike Roberts and the unbeaten Steve Cheesman and a brace from Ian Linney who lost to Eddie Tompkins. Lewis Reading came very close to getting the F’s off to a good start as he took the first two ends off Roberts, but he lost the next three 9-11, 5-11, 9-11 to eventually go home empty-handed.

The other derby came in Div 5 where the J team improved on a first-round draw by beating their K team 7-3, with Mike Gent, Geoff Biggs and captain Malcolm Douglas all bagging braces. John Parkhouse did likewise for his K team, only losing to Biggs whom captain Stuart Burton managed to beat for his sole victory.

Milton’s only non-derby win came in Div 2 as the E team beat basement boys Merton G 7-3 down at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre, courtesy of hat-tricks from Simon Golding and Peter Daish.  Full results details are below:

New Milton B 2 New Milton A 8
(B Team: John Millward 1, John Hook 1, Shaun Newcomb 0)
(A Team: Russell Wilson 1, Brian Vibert 3, Matt Daish 3)

Ringwood A 8 New Milton C 2
(Frank Handy 2, Gerard Redman 0, Simon Daish 0)

Merton D 9 New Milton D 1
(David Cuddon 0, Roy Hobbs, Terry Jenvey 1)

New Milton E 7 Merton G 3
(Simon Golding 3, Peter Daish 3, Danny Williams 0)

New Milton G 1 New Milton F 9
(G Team: Lewis Reading 0, Eddie Tompkins 1, Les Smith 0)
(F Team: Mike Roberts 3, Steve Cheesman 3, Ian Linney 2)

New Milton J 7 New Milton K 3
(J Team: Mike Gent 2, Geoff Biggs 2, Malcolm Douglas 2)
(K Team: Stuart Burton 1, James Harper 0, John Parkhouse 2)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 01/02/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: