The New Milton Table Tennis Club repeated its last week’s haul of four wins out of ten in the Bournemouth and District league, two of them coming from full houses and the other two with 9-1 scorelines.

The two 10-0 victories came in Div 4 as the table-topping F team reprised their first round whitewash of struggling Winton YMCA C with the same players doing the damage; Mike Roberts, Ian Linney and Steve Cheesman. The H team improved on their first-round 7-3 home win over Shamrock B by walloping them 10-0 at their place, thanks to hat-tricks from Paul Iliffe, John Childs and 14 year old Elliott Storr-Smith.

The J team came ascloseasthis to achieving their own full house in Div 5 over Nimrod B having lost 4-6 down at their place but it was the doubles that cost them. Leading 9-0 thanks to a captain’s hat-trick from Malcolm Douglas (pictured below) and their season’s first hat-tricks from Mike Gent and Geoff Biggs, Douglas & Gent lost over five ends to the undaunted Nimrod pairing of Jim Vials and Lyn Noakes.

MALCOLM DOUGLAS 04-03-2010 21-35-12

Both of Milton’s teams in Div 1 are struggling, but the C team reversed a first-round 4-6 defeat at the hands of second-from-bottom Ringwood B by beating them 9-1 chez Ringwood. Captain Frank Handy led from the front with a hat-trick, Gerard Redman joined him in a treble, and Andrew Daish bagged a brace. Although still third from bottom this enabled Milton to widen the gap to 8 points on their victims.

Although languishing at the bottom of Div 1, the D team managed to avoid defeat for the first time this season as they held Bmth Sports C to a 5-5 draw having lost 4-6 to them first time round. Clive Pitts played up from Div 2 and played brilliantly to win two matches and was joined in his brace by captain Jenvey. Roy Hobbs is now back playing after surgery and did really well to add one more to the tally after a gruelling five-ender against Bourne’s Dave Law who had already beaten Jenvey. Full results details are below:-

New Milton A 2 Bmth Sports A 8
(Russell Wilson 0, Matt Daish 2, Steve Hemmings 0)

Bmth Sports B 7 New Milton B 3
(Shaun Newcomb 1, John Millward 0, John Hook 2)

Ringwood B 1 New Milton C 9
(Frank Handy 3, Gerard Redman 3, Andrew Daish 2)

New Milton D 5 Bmth Sports C 5
(Terry Jenvey 2, Roy Hobbs 1, Clive Pitts 2)

North Bmth 6 New Milton E 4
(Simon Golding 2, Peter Daish 2, Paul Nelson 0)

New Milton F 10 Winton YMCA C 0
(Mike Roberts 3, Ian Linney 3, Steve Cheesman 3)

Bmth Sports K 8 New Milton G 2
(Les Smith 1, Eddie Tompkins 0, Lewis Reading 1)

Shamrock B 0 New Milton H 10
(Elliott Storr-Smith 3, Paul Iliffe 3, John Childs 3)

New Milton J 9 Nimrod D 1
(Mike Gent 3, Malcolm Douglas 3, Geoff Biggs 3)

New Milton K 2 Bmth Sports M 8
(James Harper 1, Stuart Burton 0, John Parkhouse 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 10/02/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: