The Bournemouth and District Table Tennis league programme was given over to the Annual Times & Directory Handicap Cup competition last week.

Four of the New Milton Club’s teams were involved in the third round of the Cup, but only their F team go through to the Semi-Finals, albeit at the expense of their E team whom they beat 5-1. The F’s Steve Cheesman (pictured below) remained unbeaten in all competitions to win both his games, and Ian Linney also won both his. Peter Daish replied for his E team by beating F’s captain Malcolm Nash who got the better of Paul Nelson in the opening match of the evening.

NMTTC (46)

The F team are currently top of Div 4 and have been drawn against Winton YMCA D who knocked out New Milton C and are winning Div 5 by a country mile, so should be an interesting encounter.

Both the Club’s teams still in the Plate booked their place in the quarter-finals, the B team having the easier passage as Shamrock A were ineligible to play. The G team from Div 4 go through by feat of arms as they beat Div 1’s Ringwood B 5-2. Lewis Reading won both his matches, Graham Underwood won two out of three and captain Les Smith won one out of his two. Oliver Crossley got two back for Ringwood by winning both his games.

The Premier’s B team have been drawn away against Div 4 high-flyers Bmth Sports K and the G team have been drawn at home against Div 1’s Ringwood A.

All matches are to be played week commencing 14th March.


Winton YMCA D (Div 5) 7 New Milton C (Div 1) 2
(Frank Handy 1, Gerard Redman 1, Simon Daish 0)

New Milton E (Div 2) 1 New Milton F (Div 4) 5
(E Team: Paul Nelson 0, Peter Daish 1, Simon Golding 0)
(F Team: Malcolm Nash 1, Ian Linney 2, Steve Cheesman 2)

Winton YMCA A (Prem) 7 New Milton K (Div 5) 2
(Stuart Burton 1, James Harper 1, John Parkhouse 0)


New Milton G (Div 4) 5 Ringwood B (Div 1) 2
(Lewis Reading 2, Graham Underwood 2, Les Smith 1)

New Milton B (Prem) 6 Shamrock A (Div 3) 0
(Match not played as Shamrock A ineligible to play)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 24/02/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: