Division 4 in the Bournemouth and District Table Tennis League proved a happy hunting ground for the New Milton Club last week as their G and H teams both recorded wins.

The G team dusted themselves down after two successive heavy defeats and did the double over basement boys Bmth Sports L with a 8-2 win down at the Mudeford Wood Community Centre. Man of the match Lewis Reading (pictured below) returned to the club after a few years’ break and is really doing the business for his team and came up with his fourth hat-trick of the campaign. New signing Graham Underwood was unlucky not to join Reading in a treble as he lost 8-11 in the fifth end to Bourne’s much improved Maggie White. Captain Les Smith also lost over five ends to Ms White to settle for a brace. The doubles were needed for maximum points and Reading and Underwood duly obliged.

Presentation Evening 2008 021

The H team are really mounting a bid for promotion to Div 3 and did their cause no harm as they beat Merton K for the second time, this time by 7-3 home at the Grange. New signing Paul Iliffe is now scoring hat-tricks for fun and came up with his sixth treble out of his seven matches. Dave Strike who returned to the club after working away for a few years accrued his fifth hat-trick, then joined Iliffe to take the doubles in three straight sets.

Milton’s only other win came in the heady heights of the Premier as the A team walloped the struggling Merton B 8-2 in their own back yard. Russell Wilson, another player returning to the fold came up with his second hat-trick of the campaign, and captain Steve Hemmings and Brian Vibert bagged a brace apiece. The doubles were required to secure maximum points and Wilson and Vibert were not found wanting. Full results details are below:-

Merton B 2 New Milton A 8
(Steve Hemmings 2, Brian Vibert 2, Russell Wilson 3)

New Milton C 3 Broadstone B 7
(Frank Handy 2, Andrew Daish 0, Gerard Redman 1)

Ringwood A 9 New Milton D 1
(Terry Jenvey 1, Bob Fagan 0, Roy Hobbs 0)

New Milton G 8 Bmth Sports 2
(Lewis Reading 3, Graham Underwood 2, Les Smith 2)

New Milton H 7 Merton K 3
(Paul Iliffe 3, Dave Strike 3, Lynn Willrich 0)

Merton M 9 New Milton J 1
(Geoff Biggs 0, Mike Gent 1, Malcolm Douglas 0)

Nimrod D 7 New Milton K 3
(Don Dow 0, Stuart Burton 2, James Harper 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 18/02/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: