The new season of the Bournemouth & District league got underway last week and the New Milton Club came up with four wins out of nine matches. Thirteen year old Jack Trafford (pictured below) greatly impressed in his league debut as he bagged a brace for his E team in their 4-6 defeat by Breamore in Div 2. His only defeat came at the hands of ex-Premier player Geoff Ware, a former Milton club member.


The club enjoyed two 8-2 maximum pointers, one of them at the expense of one of their own teams in the first local derby of the season as the H team put their J team to the sword in Div 4. The Jays’ only reply came from promising new signing Ben Greene whose maiden brace made his trip all the way up up from Shaftesbury all the more worthwhile. The H team’s Dave Sutton returned from a long lay-off due to illness and got off the mark with an impressive hat-trick to go along with two wins each from Eddie Tompkins and Lewis Reading.

The club’s other 8-2 scoreline came in the headier heights of the Premier as the A team (Doug Gerrish, Gerard Redman & Russell Wilson) took maximum points off newly promoted Lynwood A at Mudeford Wood. Stand-in captain Gerrish joined Wilson in a treble, and Redman played up from Div 1 to chip in with the one win. He was unlucky not to bag a brace as he just lost out to Lynwood’s John Blisset by 9-11 in the fifth and final set.

Full results details are below:-


New Milton A 8 Lynwood A 2

(Doug Gerrish 3, Gerard Redman 1, Russell Wilson 3)

Merton A 8 New Milton B 2

(Shaun Newcomb 0, John Hook 2, John Millward 0)


Broadstone B 3 New Milton C 7

(Frank Handy 2, Gerard Redman 2, Rob Blackmore 2)


New Milton D 1 Lynwood B 9

(Terry Jenvey 1, Rob Fagan 0, Roy Hobbs 0)

Breamore 6 New Milton E 4

(Jack Trafford 2, Graham Underwood 2, Bev Scott-Johns 0)


New Milton F 4 Broadstone D 6

(Sylvia Smith 1, Steve Cheesman 2, Mike Roberts 1)

New Milton G 7 Nimrod A 3

(Graham Underwood 3, Elliott Storr-Smith 2, Bev Scott-Johns 1)


New Milton J 2 New Milton H 8

(J Team: Peter Hyde 0, Ben Greene 2, John Parkhouse 0)

(H Team: Eddie Tompkins 2, Lewis Reading 2, Dave Sutton 3)


New Milton L 4 Parkstone 6

(Maggie Brown 1, James Harper 2, Stuart Burton 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 29/09/2016, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: