The New Milton Table Tennis Club came up with five wins out of eleven in the Bournemouth & District league last week. Three of those wins were maximum-pointers including one 10-0 full house.

Div 5 saw the L team (Reuben Donvito, Adam Titcombe & Bill Collinge) come up with their best result this season from matches actually played. Their 9-1 win over second from bottom Nimrod C was a significant improvement over their first-round 6-4 victory and came courtesy of hat-tricks from the two 13 year olds Donvito and Titcombe. Donvito was making his league debut (and how!) and Titcombe really enjoyed his fourth treble of the season. The teenagers crowned their evening by demolishing the Nimrod pairing in the doubles in three straight sets and are pictured below after the match (l-r Adam Titcombe, Reuben Donvito).


The club’s other 9-1 win came in Div 3 as the high-flying G team (Mike Toole, Graham Underwood & Elliott Storr-Smith) repeated their first round scoreline against Merton G. Captain Underwood and Toole both scored hat-tricks and 15 year old Storr-Smith bagged a brace. Storr-Smith displayed a maturity beyond his years to recover from losing his first set 2-11 against Merton veteran Dave Chapman to take the second 11-9. The teenager was really going for his hat-trick but unfortunately lost the next two sets 7-11, 6-11.

The full house came in Div 4 as the table-topping H team (Lewis Reading, Dave Sutton & Eddie Tompkins) vastly improved on their first-round 6-4 win over Shamrock A. Now on 40 points, they are six points ahead of second placed Winton YMCA C but Winton have a game in hand.

The other teenager from the club to win a hat-trick was 18 year old Andy Tipsana whose fifth treble of the season helped his C team to a 7-3 win over Div 1 basement boys Broadstone C.  Full results details are below:-


Winton YMCA A 4 New Milton A 6

(Steve Hemmings 3, Russell Wilson 3, Paul Iliffe 0)

New Milton B 3 Lynwood A 7

(Shaun Newcomb 1, Brian Bickell 2, John Millward 0)


Broadstone C 3 New Milton C 7

(Andy Tipsana 3, Rob Blackmore 3, Paul Iliffe 0)


North Bmth A 9 New Milton D 1

(Terry Jenvey 1, Malcolm Floyd 0, Chris Pusey 0)

New Milton E 3 Lynwood B 7

(Simon Golding 1, Peter Daish 2, Andrew Daish 0)


Bmth Sports K 6 New Milton F 4

(Steve Cheesman 2, Sylvia Smith 2, Mike Roberts 0)

New Milton G 9 Merton G 1

(Mike Toole 3, Graham Underwood 3, Elliott Storr-Smith 2)


New Milton H 10 Shamrock A 0

(Lewis Reading 3, Dave Sutton 3, Eddie Tompkins 3)

New Milton J 2 Winton YMCA C 8

(Andrew Stainton 1, John Parkhouse 0, Dan Williams 1)


Bmth Sports P 5 New Milton K 5

(Dave Burns 1, Mike Gent 3, Geoff Biggs 1)

New Milton L 9 Nimrod C 1

(Reuben Donvito 3, Adam Titcombe 3, Bill Collinge 2)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 15/02/2017, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Now how come Eddie got zero and the team won 10-0. That’s good going.

  2. Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

    Thanks Peter, sorry Eddie. Now corrected.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: