There was a break in the Bournemouth & District league programme as the week was given over to the annual Times & Directory Handicap Cup competition. Two teams from the New Milton Table Tennis Club were involved in the Cup itself with the F team booking their place in the semi-finals. Five of the club’s teams took part in Round 2 of the “Plate” with all of them going through to the quarter-finals.

The F team (Ian Linney, Steve Cheesman & Mike Roberts) are currently top of Div 3 in the league and are looking to add the Times & Directory Cup to their putative laurels. At 4-2 up against Div 2’s Merton F, Cheesman completed his hat-trick by beating Merton’s Geoff Cherrill to take Milton through to the semi-finals.

The H team (Eddie Tompkins, Dave Sutton & Lewis Reading) won the Plate competition last year and were hoping for success in the Cup proper this season. It was not to be however as they lost 3-5 to Merton G who play one division higher in Div 3. Their nemesis just happened to be hat-trick heroine Norma Millward, wife of New Milton B’s team captain John Millward.

The club’s 100% success rate in the Plate included three matches with the opposition unable to reply. The B team (John Millward, Brian Bickell & Shaun Newcomb) disposed of Premier fellows Merton B 8-0 including hat-tricks from the homecoming Bickell and wheelchair player Newcomb. The G team (Graham Underwood, Mike Toole & Bev Scott-Johns) disposed of fellow Div 3 side Bmth Sports L 6-0, and the L team (James Harper, Stuart Burton & Bill Collinge) from Div 5 did likewise to Bmth Sports F from Div 1.

The closest Plate match was the E team’s encounter with fellow Div 2 side North Bmth A as Milton just edged it 5-4 against the high-flyers thanks to a hat-trick from Simon Daish. Also from Div 2, the D team (Terry Jenvey, Malcolm Floyd & Chris Pusey), actual winners of the Plate in 2014/15, disposed of Div 5 basement boys Bmth Sports L by the more emphatic 7-2. This came courtesy of a hat-trick from Club Press Officer & Treasurer Floyd, and a brace apiece from captain Jenvey and Pusey.  The D team are pictured below (l-r Terry Jenvey, Malcolm Floyd & Chris Pusey).


Full results details are below:-


New Milton F (Div 3) 5 Merton F (Div 2) 2

(Ian Linney 1, Steve Cheesman 3, Mike Roberts 1)

Merton G (Div 3) 5 New Milton H (Div 4) 3

(Eddie Tompkins 0, Dave Sutton 2, Lewis Reading 1)


New Milton B (Prem) 8 Merton B (Prem) 0

(John Millward 2, Brian Bickell 3, Shaun Newcomb 3)

Bmth Sports P (Div 5) 2 New Milton D (Div 2) 7

(Chris Pusey 2, Malcolm Floyd 3, Terry Jenvey 2)

North Bmth A (Div 2) 4 New Milton E (Div 2) 5

(Simon Golding 2, Simon Daish 3, Andrew Daish 0)

New Milton G (Div 3) 6 Bmth Sports L (Div 3) 0

(Graham Underwood 2, Mike Toole 2, Bev Scott-Johns 2)

New Milton L (Div 5) 6 Bmth Sports F (Div 1) 0

(James Harper 2, Stuart Burton 2, Bill Collinge 2)

The Cup semi-finals and Plate quarter-finals are to take place week commencing 27th February. With five New Milton teams in the final eight of the Plate, the draw is eagerly awaited to see the make-up of the inevitable club derbies.

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 09/02/2017, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: