The New Milton Table Tennis Club could only come up with three wins out of their ten matches in the final week of the first round of matches in the Bournemouth and District league. There were five matches with close 6-4 scorelines but the Milton teams were on the wrong side of all of them.

The G team were relegated from Div 2 last season but look set to return at the first time of asking as they are four points clear at the top of Div 3. In a 7-3 victory over Merton F in their own back yard, captain Terry Jenvey led from the front with his fourth hat-trick of the campaign, Bob Fagan bagged a brace and Chris Pusey chipped in with the one win.

After failing to win their last five matches in Div 1, the D team (Paul Iliffe, Gerard Redman & Rob Blackmore) beat basement boys Merton D 7-3 in their own back yard. Blackmore came up with his third hat-trick of the season and Redman and Iliffe bagged a brace apiece. The doubles were needed for the four points but unfortunately Iliffe & Blackmore were outmatched by the Merton pairing of Clayton Fitzpatrick & Pete Hodson.

Div 3 saw the J team (Adam Titcombe, Svet Ignatov & Plamen Petrov) come up with their best win of the campaign as they thumped mid-tablers Winton YMCA C 8-2 home at the Grange. Ignatov (pictured below) came up with his first hat-trick of the season and was joined in a debut treble by exciting new signing Petrov whilst 14 year old Titcombe chipped in with the one win. The doubles were needed to secure the maximum four points and Ignatov & Petrov duly obliged.

Full results details are below:-


Merton B 6 New Milton A 4

(Steve Hemmings 1, Umit Kaya 2, John Millward 0)

New Milton B 4 Bmth Sports C 6

(Simon Heaps 0, Andy Tipsana 1, Jack Trafford 2)


New Milton C 5 Broadstone B 5

(John Millward 0, Shaun Newcomb 1, Brian Bickell 3)

Merton D 3 New Milton D 7

(Paul Iliffe 2, Gerard Redman 2, Rob Blackmore 3)


Broadstone C 6 New Milton E 4

(Bev Scott-Johns 1, Dan Williams 0, Simon Golding 3)

Bmth Sports H 6 New Milton F 4

(Steve Cheesman 1, Malcolm Floyd 0, Ben Greene 3)


Merton F 3 New Milton G 7

(Terry Jenvey 3, Chris Pusey 1, Bob Fagan 2)

New Milton H 5 Merton G 5

(Lewis Reading 1, Ian Linney 2, Sylvia Smith 1)

New Milton J 8 Winton YMCA C 2

(Plamen Petrov 3, Adam Titcombe 1, Svet Ignatov 3)


Bmth Sports N 6 New Milton L 4

(Mike Melaniphy 1, Keith Kensley 2, Geoff Biggs 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 07/12/2017, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: