The second round of the Bournemouth & District Table Tennis league programme got underway last week, with the New Milton Club repeating their opening week’s haul of five wins from ten matches. Two of those wins came at the expense of their own teams in their local derbies, with the same teams emerging victorious.

The Premier’s B team did the double over their A team and were gifted three games and a point as the A team were a player short. This helped the Bees to improve on their first-round 6-4 result with a 7-3 win this time around. The other derby saw the table-topping G team (Chris Pusey, Dave Cuddon & Terry Jenvey) repeat their first-round 8-2 win over their H team (Dave Sutton, Ian Linney & Sylvia Smith) in Div 3. Captain Jenvey scored a hat-trick, as did Cuddon but Pusey lost to Sylvia Smith, the only singles reply from the Aitches who also won the doubles.

Div 2 saw the F team (Steve Cheesman, Ben Greene & Malcolm Floyd) come up with their best win of the campaign as they hammered basement boys Bmth Sports G 9-1 in their own back yard, an improvement on their first-round 6-4 victory. Club Treasurer & Press Secretary Floyd (pictured below) was celebrating his first hat-trick of the season and indeed his first for three seasons, and Greene joined him in a treble. Captain Cheesman went two sets up against Bourne’s Simon Marriner in pursuit of his own treble, but his bad back got the better of him and he went on to lose 2-3.

The J team have certainly received a boost after signing up Plamen Petrov as his brace of wins, combined with captain Mike Robert’s first hat-trick of the campaign helped them to reverse their first-round 8-2 hammering at the hands of Div 3 high-flyers Winton YMCA D. The doubles were needed for the win and Petrov & Roberts combined clinically to take them in three straight sets to secure the 6-4 victory.

In Div 5, the L team (Keith Kensley, Malcolm Douglas & Paul Owen) did the double over Bmth Sports M with a 7-3 win at Chapel Gate. After just missing out on his hat-trick last week, Kensley (pictured below) did the business this week to go along with a brace apiece from Douglas and Owen.

Full results details appear below:-


New Milton B 7 New Milton A 3

(B Team: Andy Tipsana 0, Simon Heaps 2, Jack Trafford 1)

(A Team: Umit Kaya 2, Steve Hemmings 1)


New Milton C 2 Merton C 8

(John Millward 0, Shaun Newcomb 1, Brian Bickell 0)

Bmth Sports F 6 New Milton D 4

(Gerard Redman 0, Paul Iliffe 1, Rob Blackmore 2)


Merton E 5 New Milton E 5

(Simon Daish 3, Andrew Daish 1, Dave Sutton 1)

Bmth Sports G 1 New Milton F 9

(Malcolm Floyd 3, Ben Greene 3, Steve Cheesman 2)


New Milton H 2 New Milton G 8

(H Team: Dave Sutton 0, Ian Linney 0, Sylvia Smith 1)

(G Team: Chris Pusey 2, Dave Cuddon 3, Terry Jenvey 3)

New Milton J 6 Winton YMCA D 4

(Plamen Petrov 2, John Parkhouse 0, Mike Roberts 3)


New Milton K 2 Shamrock A 8

(Mike Gent 0, Sid Daynes 1, Dan Williams 1)


Bmth Sports M 3 New Milton L 7

(Keith Kensley 3, Malcolm Douglas 2, Paul Owen 2)

New Milton M 3 Bmth Sports N 7

(Dominic Stainton 0, Taki Hall 1, Stuart Burton 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 13/12/2017, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: