The New Milton Table Tennis Club won five out of their eleven matches in the Bournemouth and District League last week, one of their wins coming at the expense of one of their own teams in a local derby.

The club’s best win came in the Premier as the A team whitewashed the struggling Merton C team 10-0, thanks to hat-tricks from captain Steve Hemmings (pictured below), Brian Vibert and Doug Gerrish, his first of the campaign. However, the B team were on the wrong end of a Premier whitewash as they were seen off by second-placed Merton A.

Steve Hemmings



Div 1 saw the rearranged local derby between the C and D teams, with the C team coming out on top by 8-2, taking maximum points. James Lewis got his season off to a good start with a hat-trick, captain Frank Handy joined him in a treble and stand-in Graham Underwood chipped in with the one win. Captain Jenvey and Dave Cuddon replied for the D team with a win apiece and were looking to steal a point from the doubles and came desperately close to doing so. Handy and Lewis took the first two ends then Jenvey and Cuddon just scraped the next two ends 13-11 and 12-10 to set up a nail-biting finale It was nip and tuck all the way but Handy & Lewis eventually edged it by 15-13 to deny their club mates what would have been a well-earned and much needed point.

The table-topping F team maintained their 100% record in Div 4 as they beat Merton K 9-1 aided and abetted by hat-tricks from Steve Cheesman and Ian Linney, both unbeaten, and a brace from Sylvia Smith. Lower down the table in Div 4, the G team beat Shamrock B 6-4 which included a season’s second hat-trick from Graham Underwood.

Building up a bit of form in Div 5, the J team beat Shamrock C 6-4 home at the Grange. Captain Malcolm Douglas bagged a brace as did Mike Gent, and Keith Kensley chipped in with the one win. The doubles were required for the win and Douglas and Gent duly obliged.

New Milton A 10 Merton C 0
(Brian Vibert 3, Steve Hemmings 3, Doug Gerrish 3)

Merton A 10 New Milton B 0
(Shaun Newcomb 0, John Hook, John Millward 0)

Bmth Sports B 7 New Milton C 3
(Gerard Redman 1, Matt Winter 1, Simon Daish 1)

New Milton C 8 New Milton D 2
(C Team: Graham Underwood 1, Frank Handy 3, James Lewis 3)
(D Team: Dave Cuddon 1, Roy Hobbs 0, Terry Jenvey 1)

New Milton D 2 Broadstone A 8
(Chris Pusey 1, Dave Cuddon 1, Roy Hobbs 0)

Lynwood B 5 New Milton E 5
(Simon Golding 1, Danny Williams 0, Paul Nelson 0)

New Milton F 9 Merton K 1
(Steve Cheesman 3, Sylvia Smith 2, Ian Linney 3)

Shamrock B 3 New Milton G 7
(Les Smith 1, Graham Underwood 3, Eddie Tompkins 2)

Bmth Sports K 6 New Milton H 4
(John Parkhouse 1, Dave Strike 1, Lynn Willrich 1)

New Milton J 6 Shamrock C 4
(Keith Kensley 1, Malcolm Douglas 2, Mike Gent 2)

New Milton K 4 Merton M 6
(Donald Dow 0, Miriam Mather 0, Stuart Burton 1)

About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 19/11/2015, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: