The New Milton Table Tennis Club came up with six wins out of eleven matches in the Bournemouth and District league last week, one of them a 10-0 full house in the Premier.

The A team (Umit Kaya, Brian Vibert & Russell Wilson) did a Premier double over Merton B who didn’t help their cause by turning up a player short. Merton had a chance to avoid the whitewash in the doubles, but Kaya & Wilson just knicked it 15-13 in the fifth set against veteran Danny Allen and Kevin Smith in a close scoring match.

The Premier also saw a welcome return for England Veteran Brian Bickell (pictured below) who had a two year lay-off with a shoulder injury. His two wins for the B team helped them to a precious point in their 3-7 defeat against Ringwood A, which can only help in their bid for survival in the Premier as they are currently second from bottom. They are missing star player John Hook who was injured in his last match and may be out of action for some time.


The D team (Chris Pusey, Terry Jenvey & Mike Toole) were celebrating only their third win of the campaign as they overturned their first round defeat against Ringwood B with a 6-4 win at Mudeford Wood in Div 2. This came courtesy of a magnificent hat-trick from homecoming player Toole along with a brace from captain Jenvey and one win from Pusey.

Div 4 saw the table topping H team (Eddie Tompkins, Dave Sutton & Lewis Reading) avenge their first round defeat against Merton K who were the only team to get the better of them so far this season. In Milton’s 8-2 maximum pointer, Sutton came up with his ninth hat-trick having only dropped one game all season and Tompkins and Reading bagged a brace apiece.  Full results appear below:-


New Milton A 10 Merton B 0

(Umit Kaya 2, Brian Vibert 2, Russell Wilson 2)

Ringwood A 7 New Milton B 3

(Shaun Newcomb 1, Brian Bickell 2, John Millward 0)


New Milton C 4 Merton C 6

(Frank Handy 0, Rob Blackmore 2, Andy Tipsana 2)


New Milton D 6 Ringwood B 4

(Chris Pusey 1, Terry Jenvey 2, Mike Toole 3)

Bmth Sports H 4 New Milton E 6

(Peter Daish 2, Simon Golding 1, Andrew Daish 0)


New Milton F 6 Bmth Sports L 4

(Ian Linney 2, Mike Roberts 2, Steve Cheesman 2)

Bmth Sports J 6 New Milton G 4

(Mike Toole 2, Graham Underwood 2, Bev Scott-Johns 0)


Merton K 2 New Milton H 8

(Eddie Tompkins 2, Dave Sutton 3, Lewis Reading 2)

Winton YMCA B 8 New Milton J 2

(Lynn Willrich 0, John Parkhouse 1, James Harper 1)


New Milton K 7 Winton YMCA D 3

(Malcolm Douglas 2, Geoff Biggs 3, Dave Burns 1)

Bmth Sports N 7 New Milton L 3

(James Harper 2, Maggie Brown 0, Billy Collinge 1)


About Malcolm Floyd FCMA, CGMA

Retired Accountant. Ardent Saints fan! New Milton TTC Treasurer and Press Secretary. Winner of the ETTA Press Officer of the Year 2009. BDTTA Results Secretary.

Posted on 02/02/2017, in 1. News, 2. League Reports. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: